Once You Go Homemade You Never Go Back; Delicious Homemade Applesauce

English: Homemade applesauce in the process of...

English: Homemade applesauce in the process of being made, using a Squeezo (partially visible). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You heard the saying once you go black you never go back, well once you go homemade you never want to go back to store brought anymore, especially if its really not that hard to whip up.

We discovered an apple tree in our backyard and so we fertilized it with organic fertilizer and now we have begun to see new life versus just a barren dead looking tree. Now this tree has started producing green leaves and flowers galore. I just cannot wait until the first bunch of apples start growing. Although we cannot determine what kind of apple tree it is I am hoping it is of the kind of apple that cooks well.

As far back as I could remember I have always loved eating applesauce and so I always keep a bottle in my refrigerator at all times. So the other day I decided I would try and make some. Well I must tell you that there is no comparison. Homemade applesauce is not only really quick to make, it tastes a thousand times better then store brought anytime, so now I am hooked, so no more store brought applesauce for me.

Granny smith apples

Granny smith apples (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Homemade Apple Sauce Recipe

Ingredients:

4-5 granny smith apples (or any kind of apple you prefer)

Water to cover apples

Juice of 1 lemon

2 cinnamon sticks

3-4 whole cloves

½ to 1 cup of sugar

½ cup of light brown sugar (or you may prefer dark brown sugar instead)

1 tablespoon of unsalted sweet butter

Directions:

Peel and core the apples and discard both. Dice up the apples in bite size pieces and while still cutting the apple keep squeezing a whole lemon’s juice over them to keep the apple pieces from turning a yucky brown so quickly.

Next pour the apples into a sauce pan add enough water to cover the apples then add sugar, brown sugar, butter, whole cloves and cinnamon sticks and let it cook for at least 20 minutes or until apples are soft and done.

Dip out the cinnamon sticks and whole cloves before you start mashing the apples. So with a potato masher mash the apples up really good, it will leave the applesauce chunky too, but the more you mash the less chunky.

Next pour into a cute food storage bowl and refrigerate until nice and icy cold, then enjoy.

*You may want to eat it plain or you can top it with some whipped cream or some berries or cherries or banana chunks or pineapple pieces or strawberry’s or even some raisins or nuts. Even top your pancakes with delicious applesauce.

If I add raisins or any other dried fruit I like soaking the raisins in some coconut rum (malibu coconut rum) for at least an hour beforehand then add them to the hot applesauce, allowing them to cook in the applesauce for a minute or two, then chill. Yummy! Delicious!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment