We Love Saving Challenges

~~~

~~~

Well, it’s been a month since we started back doing our yearly saving challenges. We find every kind of excuse to try to put aside a few dollars for a rainy day. This reminds me that someone asked me how can they save money because it seems difficult for them as they live from paycheck to paycheck.

So I shared that we play mental games and trick ourselves into putting aside money in many ways. One way we do it is once we spend cash and we get single dollar bills and coins back we save that. We make it fun by having two electronic coin counting gadgets in the house also I purchased a really cute glitter budget binder with zipper envelopes and a cute 12 set of budget envelopes. I use the glitter budget binder to save all single dollar bills in one envelope and then I put aside all the money I save in the rest of the envelopes by doing certain types of things/jobs for ourselves in the house.

~~~

~~~

For instance… every time I wash and dry a load of laundry I charge myself $4.00 or what it would cost if I had gone to a public laundromat. We do the same when I do my own manicures and pedicures, wash my hair, hair cuts for my husband, drink coffee, hot tea, or chocolate at home, and for breakfast meals and most house cleaning. Also each time we have a staycation we charge ourselves for what it would have cost us if we had taken a trip somewhere else on a budget. The money is transferred into my glitter budget binder and then deposited into our savings account or part of it is used to pay down any lingering debt.

So we save at minimum one thousand or more a year saving every coin, and dollar bill and paying myself for my own services.

I allow myself to spend only $15 to $20 dollars a month in the self-care department, which comes to $180 to $240 dollars a year to spend on self-care and to stock up on body lotion, face cream, body wash, feminine wash, deodorant, hair shampoo, hair conditioner and I buy one Serenity dip nail kit and/or a couple of press on nails sets and a variety of nail polishes and most of my make up. I also buy perfume samples. I try not to go over my budget. Then I charge myself $15 every week for a hair wash and $50 every two weeks for a manicure and pedicure, tricking myself into putting aside $160 a month which saves $1,680 minus the $240 that I spend. All of those pennies gathered together do add up.

~~~

~~~

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment