Tomatoes, Potatoes and Petunias Oh MY!

I tell you there is nothing more amazing then the good feeling you get from growing some of your own food.

Well this week we shopped at the super Walmart garden center and picked up a few garden pots, tomato plants, petunias, growing potatoes, garden soil, granulated tomato food and general plant food.

The next day we got busy, as my husband laid down sheets of card board boxes we’d been saving and placed them in a corner of our back yard, compiled concrete cinder blocks on top of the cardboard to create two raised beds. He mixed granulated lime and granulated tomato food into the garden soil, set up the tomato cages, dug holes into the soil and we poured in crushed egg shells in the holes then planted the tomato plants into the holes of the raised beds and watered them a bit.

Next we filled four pots with potting soil and petunia plants, watered and hung them up in the front yard. Then finally we filled a grow bag with soil and a few potatoes.

So now we will just keep a watch, water and feed everything and hope for the best.

I tell you I just love growing my own tomatoes. Although we give the excess away to my neighbor, what we keep we make into sauce for spaghetti or baked zitti or for just cutting up a fresh tomato over a delicious fresh salad and make my husband’s favorite meal of fried green tomatoes.

So bit by bit I am loving every minute of our growing garden.

~~~

~~~

 

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

