On Prepping: Get It Girl!

My Prepping Question this month is:

If you had one month to prepare yourself and your family for an economy crash/downfall what would you do and how would you prepare?

~~~

One of the number one tools for prepping in my book is to have a good can opener. Believe me I have gone through a bunch of no good can openers, even the ones that are battery operated. But the best one for me thus far has been the an expensive faberware can opener. Yes it cost a pretty penny because I usually never had to spend so much on a can opener but this one was well worth the money. I think I will get an extra one as well. You know what they say in the prepping world. Having two of something is as if you had one and having one of something is as if you had none. So it’s wise to have at least two of everything I guess.

Also this month I wanted to start to work on several levels, so we started a small fall garden and so far it is coming along so well. Then we made a few purchases like….

*a box of 12 quart sized canning jars with lids, we got a box of extra lids and rims for this set of mason jars

*a large Ball 21 quart enamel water bath canning pot and a jar rack with handles (which can hold 7 one quart jars, 9 one pint jars or 13 half pint jars)

*Ball Utensil Set: one jar funnel, one Jar lifter, one bubble remover and one head space tool (which helps you handle hot jars and liquids, helps fill jars and measure head space and release air bubbles.)

*Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving

But we still need to get:

More canning jars with lids, tattlers, lots of pickling salt, white vinegar, pectin, pickling spices, canning lid rack, plastic storage caps, citric acid, labels, food saver jar sealer.

Our fall garden goals was met:

We purchased 5 gigantic bags of garden soil, 1 large bag of top soil, 1 large bag of lime granules and collard, turnip, mustard and kale seeds and 12 small starter pots of collard plants. We mixed up the soil with the lime granules and planted the turnip seeds and the collard plants in a raised bed. And I tell you in in one week’s time we have a beautiful green garden growing of turnips and collard greens already. They look so beautiful. We had a few very cold nights this week so we took straw from around the pine trees and spread it around the garden to keep the frost off of them.

But we still need to get:

Carrots, cabbage, garlic and onion seeds. I also saw a tower garden pot I hope to get to continue growing herbs indoors. (I also save seeds from everything I can and put the seeds in the freezer.)

Our monthly supermarket buys:

We picked up at least 2 bags each of red, black and green lentils, red bean, black beans, small baby lima beans and black eye peas. Several cans of cream style corn, regular corn, green beans, vegetarian beans, Campbell soups, corned beef hash, sardines and more boxes and boxes of table salt and a huge bag of basmati rice. Each time we go to the store we always pick up either, rice, beans or some kind of canned goods to add to our food storage.

Next month’s goals are:

To Start on Oils, Spirits and Soaping Supplies:

I’d like to purchase my first set of soaping supplies so I can make my own soaps. This will be next months goals along with stocking up on medicinal tinctures and spirits (wines, liquors and various kinds of spirits to use for bartering)

*a good soap making book

* basic of soap supplies and tools and use the old crock pots we already have.

In the past we would buy lots of different brands of soaps and put them in a huge plastic container which right now is half way filled. But this week we picked up a huge box of Irish spring soap to add to the boxes of dove, lever 2000, and ivory soaps in there.

~~~

I think about the people in Venezuela and wonder what would happen if the same thing happened here in America? What would people do? The crime levels are already kind of high and to have increased crime would be so devastating. I hate to think about people dying from starvation and sickness at alarming rates due to an economy crash. So I worry all the time about what would happen here in America if the same happens here. That’s why I focus so much on getting ready and try to encourage others to do the same.

My heart breaks for those people who are starving there. And the ones that had a bit of food already stored at home and came to realize that what little they did store up was not enough to meet their needs. I saw this woman crying with her small children and trying to figure out how to make the few items she had left on her kitchen pantry last. I think about things like that and wish I was a part of a prepping group where we could put our heads together on these types of things. I guess that’s why I always read a lot of the prepping websites and books so I could get good ideas but some of them seem to be so overwhelming. Like for instance I know we need to get a wood cook stove but it’s not something we could get right now. So I do what I can with what I got. But I always think about having one. We did see a few in a couple of stores but we are unsure as to which one would be the best one because there are so many different kinds out there. So I am thinking to save the money and just take a pick and hope for the best, then put it away in case it is needed one day.

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

