Our Country Kittens Are Doing Fine

One of our cats had some of the cutest tiny little kittens a few weeks ago and I must share that they are some of the most adorable and loveable kittens.

At first I thought a few of them was born blind but as I took a closer look at them I saw that their eyes were closed. I figured they must have some kind of eye infections. So I took each one of them up in my arms and applied a cotton ball with luke warm water and a bit of witch hazel to their eye lids. First I moistened the area for a few seconds then gently wiped away the crust that had formed on their eye lids and so they would be fine and would be running and jumping around the backyard but the next day the eye problem came back again.  Of course I didn’t want to keep wiping their eyes each and every single day as I had better things to be doing with my life. (LOL!) So I went ahead and put two tablets of Amoxicillin (my husband just happened to have some left over in our medicine cabinet) in their watered down food for the next seven days. And it was so amazing to see that after two days of getting the medicine their eyes looked so much better and remained opened thereafter. I was so happy with the result and so was my husband.

So the kittens are doing fine nowadays. They are happily jumping and running all around the place. Bright eyed and bushy tailed and all! LOL. They love play fighting with each other all the time as I sit in my rocker and watch them play and get a good laugh out of it.

It seems they are still a little afraid of us though, because whenever either one of us walk out the door into the yard they all start running away like bandits. (LOL!) But other then that I am so happy to have been able to solve their eye infection problem because I could not see myself taking these kittens to see a vet, let alone paying a ton of money for their eye infection problems because these are just some wild and free country cats with kittens.

During the winter is when I feel sorry for them and I wish I could bring them all inside the house with me but they seem to make it through each winter by finding a warm spot underneath the sheds. And when it’s all so hot in the summer time you can see them laying around shaded areas in the yard and so I make sure to put lots of cold water in their food each day in addition to giving them lots of cold milk every few days so they don’t get dehydrated. And my husband sprays the ground and grass with the water hose everyday to cool it down out there for them.

We do the same for our dogs. My husband feeds them by putting plenty of water in their dog food on these hot summer days and in addition to leaving a bucket of fresh cold water beside their dog houses each day as he also feeds them various kinds of dog biscuits and a bowl of cold milk every couple of days too.

I tell you having pets are a huge responsibility but I don’t know what I would do without them all.

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

