Doomsday Prepping! Saving On Eggs

Saving eggs is what I am doing since the outbreak of this horrible disease that’s been killing the Chickens and Turkeys. (But here in the south the disease has not hit here so bad as everywhere else.)

White Eggs in Carton

White Eggs in Carton (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So not only am I glad that I did buy powdered eggs a while back but so far each week I been buying at least one or two cartons of eighteen eggs to put away because I learned a cool trick of how to make them last for up to one year. I learned that by lightly and delicately rubbing and massaging each egg with some mineral oil (using plastic disposible gloves) then storing each egg carton in a huge Styrofoam cooler then putting the Styrofoam cooler in a cool and dry place keeps the eggs.

And so every 2 weeks I check on them and re-oil the entire bunch and pay attention to watch for any egg that turns dark. Because that one you want to throw out right away. It will start to smell too. You can see the darkness in comparison to the rest of the eggs that are still white and smell fresh still.

So Who Knew! It’s so cool….

So I guess you may be wondering where in the world did I learn such a trick, “Doomsday Preppers” show is were I learned this trick. I tell you I never thought I would find myself having to do something like this at all.

The price of eggs are real scary, they keep going up and up and it’s crazy! Those expensive organic, antibiotic free, cage free and vegetarian fed eggs are now cheaper then the regular eggs sold in supermarkets which are not supposed to be all that great for you and I cannot believe it! But so, which ones do you think I am going to buy?

Also I am so glad that I had a head start, jumped ahead and purchased a lot of them before the price’s starting going up on them. I also read somewhere that eggs are starting to be rationed in some states where they are allowing a certain amount of eggs per family. That is so crazy!

Also I went ahead and purchased a slew of fresh chicken and turkey and put them in the deep freezer…. just in case.

Well I never thought we would see this day so soon, but it’s here.

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

