Becoming More Like Sarah

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!

Sarah van Fleet rose

Sarah van Fleet rose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Moment by moment, day by day and year after year

it’s so nice to see growth in the area of having a deeper respect for my husband

it’s not some outdated notion or cultural thing either

Just learning how and getting better at it is my goal,

because for me

my husband’s authority is supreme

and I want this

~me~

Sarah is the kind of woman, some men do secretly dream about and do all they can to possess as their own. Sarah’s spirit is gentle and quiet, comforting, cozy and easy, very much unlike and opposite of the controlling spirit of Jezebel. Sarah does represent!

…like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her master…….. 1 Peter 3:6

Sarah obeyed her husband and called him her Lord. And what was so incredible about it is that she actually meant it from the bottom of her heart, it was no act.

She is the type of woman God chose to be an example to every Christian women on earth. Why? Because she simply made herself wonderfully beautiful in the eyes of an amazing God by her incredible willingness to submit to God’s will and ways and was easily submissive with a willing heart towards the most important man of her life, her husband Abraham. So God holds her up for all woman to pay homage to and learn from. She had what God desires to see in almost every Christian wife. And her story is found in Genesis chapter 18 of the bible.

Sarah was one smart woman, she was willing enough to value what God deemed as valuable, his man he created. Scripture constantly cries out to Christian wives world over, to give honor and respect to her husband’s leadership, to encourage him in the Lord and to build him up, and to be humbled by the Holy Spirit (the word of God) and learn what it means to be a godly woman and a loving wife.

English: Rosa 'Sarah Van Fleet' (Van Fleet, be...

English: Rosa ‘Sarah Van Fleet’ (Van Fleet, before 1922), in the international rose garden of Kortrijk, Belgium. Français : Rosa ‘Sarah Van Fleet’ (Van Fleet, avant 1922), dans la roseraie internationale de Courtrai, Belgique. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s so important for both partners to grow in a marriage and as far as the wife is concerned, to learn ways to respect the husband’s ideas and take in to consideration his choices even when you know what his weaknesses are.

It is so easy to go in the opposite direction and go up against what God desires and become instead what the world upholds as the way to be a wife in a marriage. It seems like a joke in some circles when they hear the words… to respect and honor your husband. Some say what! Who me, honor and respect him. No way! Instead it’s almost cool to treat a husband with disrespect and to take on that Jezebel like spirit and attitude which is in total rebellion against what God wants for us daughters. The bible says the head of the wife is the man and the head of the man is God….. and so I believe what God says…. I believe and put my trust in his order.

It is my goal in life to become more and more like Sarah, and it may sound kind of corny, but each and everyday as I strive to be all that God wants me to be. I want to grow in my reverence for an almighty God who loves me and gave his life for me. So that means to follow his commands. One of those commands are to love, honor and respect my one and only husband. And really if the truth be told most woman don’t want a man she cannot respect anyway. So that’s more of and another reason to give him the respect he deserves. I understand the concept in the bible of how it’s not good for a woman to lord over a man in any way. It is so demeaning to men to walk all over a man’s ego and manhood.

Titus 2:3 says… likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good.

I am always telling and looking for opportunity to say to my husband how much I appreciate his love, leadership and protection. And I know that he is far from perfect and neither am I perfect, but I prefer that I trust him because I pray and trust in God to be by his side and to help him to become successful spiritually, emotionally, financially and in whatever he does and chooses to do within him.

It’s my desire to please him, above all else, even when it is difficult, I swallow my pride. It’s not good to be angry and it’s a wonderful thing to learn how to hold back my tongue instead of spurting out anything negative. (Learn to have a quietness) Plus I don’t want sin to have a foothold in my spirit in anyway towards my husband. There should be no room for manipulating him in any way, shape or form but to be as truthful as possible in a respectful way for whatever is on my mind and that I want to discuss with him. It’s nice to step back allowing him to be the total person God has for him to be, not trying to change him or make him be what I want him to be. I could tell you how wonderful it is to be the one who is quick to apologize when in the wrong. It’s an expression of love to learn to be careful with the tone and sound of my voice and my attitude and to never be sarcastic towards him, nor bossy or impatient towards him. What man in his right mind could not appreciate these things.

Some Christian women find it very difficult to “stay within their role” and to exhibit a gentle and quiet spirit about themselves, they act like they are loosing something when they have so much to gain. It’s so elegant and pleasing to the eye to be feminine, sweet, loving and kind and not have to take on the husbands/male role. It’s insane to become too involved or greatly influenced by how the world views a marriage relationship which is totally in opposition of the way God wants us to be, because anything out side of God is a recipe for failure, it’s no wonder the divorce rate is so high and some marriages are so miserable.

So in order to be more Sarah like, there has to be a constant awareness of what you are thinking, feeling and doing all the time, what you read, watch on cable and who you are in conversation with and influenced by all of the time. You could easily miss out and get off track and loose your way. I choose to not be easily influenced by the standards of the world.

I am a believer in doing the little things that help make a home run more smoothly so that when hubby comes home he steps up into a home full of peace, not chaos or a bunch of confusion. You don’t want to run your man away but bring him closer to you. It’s better to be humble and nothing like bitterness, nor nagging or exhibiting an argumentative or bickering type of spirit. But instead to be sweet like honey dripping. It’s not important to be right and have the desire to be in control of the relationship all of the time, sometimes it’s smarter to submit and let him be.

I’m not one who is interested in wearing the pants in my relationship, it’s too much work and I guess I never will be that type of woman. I prefer to be big enough to take my eyes off my husbands faults and concentrate on what’s good and sweet about him. And I tell you go ahead on and make a list of what’s good about your man. He has to have something good because you chose to be with him anyway from the beginning.

It’s so easy to focus on someones faults and wrongs and that’s too bad and so sad. You will be miserable trust me living in a relationship like this. I prefer to focus on improving upon my own faults and weaknesses and that’s a full time job in it’s self, cause I could be a mess, ha, ha, ha! Anyway, by the time I get through spending time working on my own self improvement it’s time to think on what’s so good about him again and again. And I can find a lot of good in him just as anyone else can find in their man too. It’s time out for complaining and finding fault but to be loving and respectful. Trust me this man will become your biggest fan.

……….having that gentle and quiet spirit that is so pleasing to God. (1 Peter 3:4)

~~~~~~

~~~

….You’ll be my strength and I’ll be your shoulder to lean on.

We’ll build a world and fill the whole place with a love song.

Cause you & I were meant to be lovers,

the search is over for us there’s no other,

were finally at the rainbows end,

maybe together we’ll mend all the cracks in our hearts

and just love all the hurt away….

~ARETHA FRANKLIN & GEORGE BENSON~

“Love All The Hurt Away”

~~~

Here’s a couple of nice articles I read and enjoyed on the life of Sarah.

Wonderful article explaining the meaning of submission

1. https://bible.org/seriespage/wives-sarah-and-husbands-who-honor-them-1-peter-31-7

2. http://lifehopeandtruth.com/change/faith/women-of-faith/sarah/

3. http://www.biblenews1.com/docs/sarah.htm

4. http://www.charactercincinnati.org/Faith/Qualities/Meekness/sarahwifeofabraham.htm

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND EVERY ONE OF YOU!

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

