So What’s In Your Toothpaste & Mouthwash? Homemade Remineralizing Toothpaste Recipe

Toothpaste and toothbrush

Toothpaste and toothbrush (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Betty’s Remineralizing Toothpaste Recipe

Ingredients:

3 drops clove essential oil

8 drops tea tree essential oil

3 drops peppermint essential oil

5 Tablespoons Calcium Carbonate powder

5 Tablespoons pure coconut oil

3 Tablespoons of arm and hammer baking soda

1 Tablespoons of Xylitol (sweetener)

1 Tablespoon of Dr. Bronners Liquid Castile Soap

2 small glass jars (can re-use small baby food jars) or 2 small plastic food storage containers

Directions: Blend the powders first, then add the rest of the ingredients. Beat with a spoon until you have a thick and creamy consistency. Store in small glass jars or small containers. My husband and I divide it up between us two.

Self-microemulsifying drug delivery system

Self-microemulsifying drug delivery system (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For years we’d always quickly grabbed up whatever toothpaste and mouth wash was available in the stores. Never giving it a second thought, that we may be poisoning ourselves. Gradually I am finding out that what you use to brush and rinse with can greatly effect oral and overall health.

Most toothpastes sold in stores have fluoride, artificial colors and sweeteners, titanium dioxide, glycerin, sodium lauryl sulphate and many other horrible ingredients in them. We put them into our mouths allowing all these harsh chemicals to be absorbed through the skin of the membranes in our mouths, into the bloodstream and then it all builds up in the body. I read that Glycerin coats teeth and blocks teeth from absorbing much needed minerals, it’s no wonder our teeth are full of cavities and brittle.

The only toothpaste I found and prefer using besides Dr. Bronners liquid soap is “Earth Paste” by Redmond. It’s sold in many flavors such as lemon, spearmint, peppermint and cinnamon and it does not have all those doggone chemicals in them. So now I feel like we are cooking with gas yall! LOL.

In the mornings and between meals we use the Earth Paste, but at bedtime we use my trusty homemade remineralizing tooth paste, which is a God send and is so amazing! I am so, so happy with the results we are getting besides the fact that I still do oil pulling as well. Tossing all these chemical filled toothpastes and mouth washes was the best thing we ever have done.

It’s been many years ago since my old time dentist advised me to use a remineralizing mouth wash which is a bit pricey, so this recipe is so much cheaper and healthier. And after searching the web, finding numerous homemade tooth paste recipes made with coconut oil and baking soda and with lots of trial and error, I finally came up with my own special concoction. This recipe is so amazing and fits us perfectly. So here’s introducing my wonderful homemade “Remineralizing” toothpaste recipe. I am in love with this recipe along with my husband. It makes my gums feel so much more healthy, my breath is fresher and my mouth feels wonderful. (but don’t swallow it because it has soap in it.)

So before bedtime I floss my teeth first, then wet my soft toothbrush and apply a bit of my toothpaste recipe, brushing close to the gum line, then I rinse really well, then one final rinse with some of my homemade mouth wash (will post it later) and lastly smooth some Burts Bees Lip Balm onto my lips, do whatever else is in my nightly routine and then I’m happily ready to hit el sacko with a fresh clean and comfy mouth. Ahhhh!

And please don’t be shy, I would love to hear from anyone who tries it and has a good result as we do.

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

