Loving Self (Part Three)

Love yourself enough to take the actions required for your happiness,

Love yourself enough to cut yourself loose from the ties of the drama-filled past….

Love yourself enough to move on!

~Dr. Steve Maraboli~

…….and when I say be kind and gentle, I mean I had to give up focusing too much on my shortcomings and I have stopped trying to be “Mrs. Perfect Lady” a long time ago.

I had to learn to not compare myself to others because growing up as a youngster in a big family, we all used to like comparing ourselves to each other, which I feel is quite ok if you don’t get obsessed about it, you know, going over board at it. I think it could be healthy because it sort of encourages one to become better. So for the past few years, I started to re focus more on my positive qualities, one of which I am a giver. I like giving and sharing with others, which my mother encouraged that in all of my brothers and sisters. Now it doesn’t mean they are all giver types, because some of them are not like that at all, LOL! But it helped me find that I liked giving of myself, I liked the feeling I would get after giving in some way or form of myself without any other motives other then to do just that. So looking at my admirable traits and strengths is much better then looking at my weaknesses or faults the majority of the time and learning to take it one day at a time in life is amazing.

I’m so glad that I learned how to let go of disliking myself or allowing myself to have any type of feelings of self hatred, but instead learning to forgive myself. I tell you it is so easy not to like yourself when things seem to go wrong. So I can thank the incorporation of releasing and letting things go and actually focus on the practice of sending my self love as one of the greatest discoveries of all time for me. So loving myself, doing things I love and pampering myself in various kinds of ways is extremely helpful and so amazing. It means changing my perspective on what the word kindness means. Learning to be kind to self is being a good friend but only it’s to yourself.

Being patient, warm, loving, knowing who you are, the practice of smiling to myself, laughing at myself, be loyal to self, grateful for whatever at the present time, being compassionate and knowing that I can trust myself to treat me well in addition to having my very best interest at heart at all times. It’s strange how some people are on the self destruct mode and don’t even know it, so it’s in those many ways kindness to self can be worked on and achieved one day at a time.

Practically everyone knows that being around negativity can put you in the worst frame of mind. But it’s when you are listening to negative chatter from within your own head, well that could be a real problem/issue and is not good at all when it’s all you do. So learning how to shut that off is not easy sometimes, but if you don’t find a way to replace it all with positive thoughts and by letting go of all negative feelings and emotions as soon as the negative chatter starts then it could be a real problem and a challenge, but nevertheless I found it is possible to shut it down.

Frankly, I just don’t allow myself to live there. I believe in myself and in treating myself good and treating myself to things I enjoy and like. If it means simply spending time to read a book by an author I love or watching a show I love and enjoy on cable. I know that I am worthy of love and respect and so I make sure I give it to myself first and foremost. And I am talking about a healthy kind of love, not that kind of love where you think you are better or above all others. One thing my mom used to tell us as kids that we were no better than other people and other people were no better than us. And I had this great aunt who always told me how important it was to respect other people and she said if you do, you will go further in life than you normally would disrespecting people. You practically can win the heart of many that way.

So being kinder, gentler, loving and not worrying about anything is a first and major step in my growth towards self love.

Learning to love myself has been the best journey ever and as I continue on this path, it helps me find it easier to love others as well, especially those who love me too. LOL!

(I am not into loving those who do not love me quite yet, but I am working on it. 🙂 )

🙂 >>>>>>>>THE END<<<<<<<<<<<<< 🙂

HAVE AN AMAZING VALENTINES DAY EVERYONE!

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

