My Saving Ways: Prepping (#8)

Prepping is turning out to be a real blessing for me. I have learned how to be more conscientious about the ways in which to save our money and the sky’s the limit on finding creative ways to do it. It’s always wise to pinch pennies wherever and whenever you can. I believe I’d be no different if I had a million bucks! Waste not want not. LOL! So here we go again.

1. Everyday Items

DIY Pampering & Save

2. Save On Groceries:

Homemade Liquid Soap and Homemade Cleaning Products

3. Electricity

Using Salt Lamps and Night Lites

4. Gas Heat Bill:

Using Kerosine Heaters

5. Water Bill:

Do Not Let Faucets Run:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Save On Everyday Items:

DIY Pampering & Save

I am so glad that I learned from a teenager how to do my own hair, nails and pedicures. Because if you think about it, people can spend a great deal of their hard earned income on personal care and pampering. I remember having girlfriends back then who did not know how to do their own hair, nails and feet and so they were slaves to the hair salons. Growing up in a big family did not allow such luxuries, so mama taught us girls real early how to do those things. Us sisters used to dye, shampoo and perm our own hair. We used to take turns plucking each others eye brows, and practiced polishing our finger nails and toe nails. So Mama brought us up to be independent like that, not relying on the beauty salons.

Now today, I sometimes enjoy treating myself to the occasional manicure and pedicure, but that’s the ex-stint of it. I prefer spending money on a massage if anything. But I have friends and family today who spend huge sums of their hard earned income on going to beauty salons for their hair, manicures and pedicures, and while I know they love it all, but I know they secretly wish they didn’t have to spend so much money and weren’t so reliant upon these places. But I have to tell you, I have always been so cheap in certain ways, or should I say frugal. Well yeah that sounds better right.

So I just cannot see myself giving my money away on a regular or weekly basis like that. I am sorry. If like them, I didn’t or couldn’t do my own hair or nails, I would buy wigs that I could wear over and over again and buy press on nails and keep it moving, ya hear!

Nora's Hair Salon

Nora’s Hair Salon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hair:

I prefer to make my own shampoo and conditioner concoctions. And since I’ve been getting away from the use of so many chemicals and toxins on my body, I use Dr. Bronners liquid soap for shampooing my hair and I make my own herbal tonics as a rinse.

For conditioner I prefer using either an egg or mayonnaise or a combination of different oils like coconut oil, carrot oil, olive oil, Shea butter and jojoba oil to condition my hair. Sometimes I use a heat cap to let the oils soak in and it really works to make my hair very soft and shiny.

I save so much money doing it this way and its all much healthier, especially since whatever you put in your hair and scalp goes directly to your blood stream.

English: red nails

English: red nails (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Manicures & Pedicures:

Most times, I just give myself a simple manicure by soaking my nails and hands in a bit of yogurt and lemon juice and then soaking them in olive oil. I cut back on the use of toxic nail polish and if I do decide to polish my nails for special occasions, I prefer using the children’s non toxic brand of nail polish and remover on the market today. So I let my nails grow long, and I keep them clean, trim and buffed so they have a natural shine minis all the ugly chemicals.

English: A Facial mask. Português: Uma Máscara...

English: A Facial mask. Português: Uma Máscara facial. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Facials:

I keep it simple, and use a mixture of yogurt and lemon juice, or a clay mask as a form of micro derma abrasion. I wash my face with a separate face cloth and Dr. Bronners unscented soap. A splash of witch hazel, then I mix Shea butter and cocoa butter together to moisturize my face daily.

I also cut back on the use of heavy make up, and use very little whenever I go out to an appointment or something. But if I am just going outdoors for fresh air, or for a brief walk, I prefer to let the sun shine on my clean face without any makeup at all on my skin. So when I wear makeup, I mostly wear a natural chap stick, lipstick, eyebrow liner, mascara, eye shadow and under eye concealer. But never ever sleep in make up or wear it while sitting around the house.

2. Save on Groceries:

Homemade Liquid Soap and Homemade Cleaning Products

I prefer making green homemade cleaning products and some I make from “fake it frugal” website. I also prefer using Dr. Bronners soap bar to wash dishes instead of the toxic chemical filled dish liquid sold on the market, and also we make some homemade liquid soap which my husband likes to shower with and we use it for washing dishes too. So you can check out “fake it frugal” recipes link below. I like to make those recipes and the liquid soap recipe from “farmers nest” website. We use this liquid soap on a regular basis. So see the two links below and boy does it save us a lot of money this way.

See Fake Windex, Clorox clean up and shower clean recipes

(Only I would use Seventh Ave dish liquid and rinse in place of the Jet Dry.)

http://fakeitfrugal.blogspot.com/2011/08/fake-windex.html

Using one bar of soap, a gallon of distilled water, grater, pot and glycerin you can make a killing on liquid soap. (I like to add 2 tablespoons of coconut oil to this recipe too.)

http://www.thefarmersnest.com/2011/11/liquid-hand-soap-diy.html

Salt Lamps

Salt Lamps (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3. Save On Electricity:

Salt Lamps and Night Lites

I save on electricity using the low volt night lights in a couple of salt lamps. It makes the house look so warm, calm and cozy too.

4. Save On Gas Bill

Kerosine Heaters

Sometimes we use a small kerosine heater instead of running the overall heating system. And it works really good, it warms the house up even better than our heating systems. But I don’t care for the fumes (some oil gives off a lot some don’t) and so we use it very rarely and for only a few hours in the afternoons or evenings sometimes.

5. Save on Water Bill

Do Not Let Faucets Run

While brushing our teeth, hands or anything we do not let the faucet water run. I like to pour water in a cup to rinse while brushing or fill up a basin of water when I wash my hands and face, or to wash a pile of dishes. We act as if the water is liquid gold! So you don’t want to waste gold.

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

