In Much Need of A Cleansing Fast

English: Apple juice with two apples Deutsch: ...

English: Apple juice with two apples Deutsch: Apfelsaft mit zwei Äpfeln (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s that time of year and so here I go again!

For me the Fall is just the perfect time for going on cleansing fasts. And I turn up the exercise routine a bit with yoga everyday and sometimes I like to join a gym for a few months that hopefully has a hot sauna or I just go exercising in one of those heated swimming pools for the entire fall.

So it’s a time that I try very hard to stick to the fast/cleanse for a minimum of 5 days out of the 30 for at least once a month in the months of August, September and October. And again right after the holidays of overeating I try to do one more cleanse.

I guess it’s just a habit of mine because as a young child my mother used to talk about all the wonderful benefits of doing a light cleanse for a couple of times each year. She would have all of us kids on one each fall with different forms of gentle laxatives and her own home remedies and (I tell you some of the concoctions would either cure you or kill you, LOL!) she would do this yet again right after the holidays and anytime we had too many sweets. Then fill us up with a multi vitamin, vitamin c and nutritious foods before the cold winter weather crept in, to keep our immune systems up to fight off colds and to tell the truth not many of us would wind up with the flu or a cold. She would fill us up with all kinds of nutritious soups and juices.

So I am used to the routine of cleansing and then taking vitamins and eating nutritious meals to protect from getting colds and the flu. But to tell the truth I don’t cleanse as much as I should but I vow to do better. LOL! I also up the ante on pampering by doing more facials and full body scrubs. And if I have any extra money I will include getting a full body massage at least once each month or buy some good massage oils and massage my own body parts in the mornings before jumping in the shower. Now tell me isn’t that the most amazing part of it all! Well you have to treat yourself good when you have to turn down those delicious meals for a few days.

So this time I am trying the “Apple Cleansing Fast” for the first three (3) days. And two (2) days of eating and drinking various vegetables, detox juices, teas and fruit smoothies.

And then on the last two (2) days to ease back into my normal meals and diet by eating something light but something that will stick to my ribs because by that time I am kinda hungry.

I will post recipes for the cheese omelet, vegetables broth soup and my delicious brown rice recipe because I love it when the brown rice is lightly chewy and tasty and not boring. LOL! I also will post about the delicious casserole I baked for my husband while being on this fast. He just cannot go without his normal meals so “No” fasting for him. LOL!

So anyway here’s what my menu’s look like for the next 8 days.

(The day before I started, I had 3 light but fully nutritious meals and a multivitamin.)

Apple Cleansing Fast

For Days: 1 Wed, 2 Thurs, 3 Friday

Breakfast:

1 Apple, a cheese omelet, or a boiled egg with a small piece of cheddar cheese, 1 cup of hot Dandelion tea.

Lunch:

1 Apple, 1 cup of brown rice with broccoli.

Dinner:

1 Apple, huge salad topped with grilled salmon or sardines. (I alternate between the two)

Salad: Romaine/butter head/Spinach, fresh cucumbers and tomatoes from a cousins garden, radishes, juice of a half lemon, apple cider vinegar, 1 teaspoonful of olive oil or coconut oil)

Snacks: all I can eat apples

Just Before Bed: 1 hot cup of unsweetened tea

Drinks: up to 2 mugs of hot homemade unsweetened apple cider, at least 4-8 glasses of warm/room temperature or hot water, 1 glass of unsweetened apple juice, 2 mugs of unsweetened herbal teas like Dandelion and tangerine.

The evening of the third (3rd) day to take two tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil.

For Days: 5 Saturday, 6 Sunday

Then break this Apple cleansing fast on the morning of the 4th day with 1 cup of fresh squeezed orange juice first thing.

Then further cleansing meals:

Breakfast:

Unseasoned/plain cooked brown rice cooked with whole unpitted prunes, nutmeg, ginger (grated), chia seeds, and unsweetened almond milk in a bowl.

Lunch:

Fruit smoothie: Unsweetened almond milk, frozen black berries, 1 frozen banana, chia seeds, turmeric, 1 cup of ice. Blend and drink.

Dinner:

Vegetable broth soup, 1 cup of sauerkraut, 1 sliced apple, 1 cup of hot prune juice.

(The Vegetable broth soup ingredients in a crock pot: 2 diced red onions, 2 celery stalks, 4 cloves of fresh garlic, 1 whole small cabbage, fresh parsley, fresh cauliflower, fennel if I could find it in groceries stores down here, hot peppers, carrots, paprika, turmeric.)

Drinks: Unsweetened pineapple juice mixed with juice of 1 lemon. 8 glasses of warm room temperature water or hot water. Cucumber and celery drink. Dandelion tea.

All I can eat Snacks: celery sticks, cucumbers, carrots, sour pickles, side salads.

Final 2 days:

Day 7 Monday, 8 Tuesday

Breakfast: 1 slice of whole grain seeded toast or cereal and milk, 1 cup of yogurt, 1 cup of fresh squeezed orange juice

Lunch: Egg salad on 1 slice of whole grain bread, 1 cup of spinach

Dinner: 1 small turkey pot pie or homemade chicken noodle soup, 1 small salad.

Drinks: up to 4-8 glasses water, teas, warm chicken and beef broths.

Snacks: All I can eat fruits: banana, strawberries, Raisins, dates, peaches, apples, grapes, oranges.

After this I feel ok with returning to my normal daily diet and resume taking a daily multi vitamin and omega 3’s the next day.

Here’s more info on the Apple Cleansing Fast:

http://www.wikihow.com/Do-an-Apple-Cleansing-Fast

A cooked Marie Callender's chicken pot pie, ou...

A cooked Marie Callender’s chicken pot pie, out of the box. This example comes from a box of 6 available from a Costco Wholesale club store in Northern California. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Much Need of A Cleansing Fast

  1. Hana Alireza says:

    This sounds great! Thanks for sharing your menu, we might give this a try as we had our very first thunderstorm this morning in Beirut. Fall is finally here!

  2. Rose says:

    I love that your mum introduced you to cleansing! Your menu sounds wonderful – I’m inspired to try something similar 🙂

Leave a Reply

