5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 Years Of Love

~~~

THE PRESIDENTS

“5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 Years Of Love”

~~~

I guess if each married partner had a mindset to be committed and determined early on to stick together thru thick and thin, it wouldn’t be so easy as it is today to just walk away from a marriage. I also believe religious faith has a big role to play in all of this too.

I can remember how most of my childhood girlfriends, my husband and I, grew up in households where parents did their best to make you feel very secure and they knew how important it was for the children to see both parents living in the home, staying together and loving each other in front of them. Wow how unselfish is that!

Baby Roses

Baby Roses (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But I also remember seeing single parent families too, but their children were not so crazy and wild like I see how some are today. I just do not understand how we got from there to here.

Things have changed, I hear people crying out with those same needs, wants and desires in life that we had back then. A lot of people I talk to feel as if something is missing in their lives.

It’s been a long time since I heard this song. It started me to reminiscing, thinking about family and how life was so different and much simpler. It seemed important for families and marriages to stay together. For there was no such thing as a divorce rate being discussed because divorce happened but just not a lot.

I also noticed that we had a lot of family traditions back then and extended families lived closer by. Now it seems as if everyone is living far apart and everyone is extremely busy doing their own thing and yet time is just passing us by and people are not happy.

I read a story in the news about this man who lived alone as an elderly man and decided to commit a crime so that he can go back to jail to be around people once again. Now that is really sad. He had some family members right there supporting him, they even brought the trailer he lived in, so what happened with this story. This should not be.

And I am not saying that there are no close knit families today, thank goodness there are some still around, but it just seems like the percentages were better back then as compared to now.

So back then us girls, we used to dream all the time about meeting Mr. Right and staying married to the same man for the rest of our lives. Could you imagine that? We’d heard songs such as “5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 years of love” and got to witness our grand parents being married all the way up to their golden years, loving each other, supporting each other and the idea of breaking apart from their spouses just never occurred to them. Now days like back then things would go wrong but there was more of desire to stay together, to share the warmth of being together.

So yes, I can remember as a child and young girl seeing real examples of men loving their wives to pieces! Men loving on their girlfriends. And men sticking with them, working together to create and make a long loving life together.

Us girls used to chit chat about becoming good homemakers, giggling about it, blushing about it and even schools reinforced the idea of teaching girls to be good home makers.

I remember going to school and taking a required course called “home economics” and in that class the teachers taught us how to cook real food! Then when you got home from school mama taught you how to run a household until you were an expert at it.

I remember how it was to come home and find your mom in the kitchen cooking dinner and waiting for your arrival with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and warm milk to give us as an after school snack.

But then somewhere along the line things started changing because you could see how women were getting restless (including my mom) and these woman wanted to go out and work instead of staying at home raising families. You saw commercials on TV and heard songs encouraging women to be independent and what not. Which to me is ok. Be all that you can be I say. LOL! But I think the importance of family and marriage just got left behind in all of the changes. And so the ball got dropped.

I remember how people used to have time to spend with each other and how we were very social then. And when I say social I mean we had sitting areas where family or friends could stop in to sit and chit chat and enjoy each others company for a while. But you hardly see that going on anymore. Front porches are empty.

I just wonder why did we let that all go? Don’t people still have the same needs and desires. One of my friends was saying to me just the other day that she doesn’t see her family anymore because everyone is busy. And she couldn’t even bring herself to say she was sad about it. I know she was. She said the only time they chat and catch up is on facebook.

So although you might still hear of people staying together in a marriage but it’s too few and far between.

I guess that’s why we have picked up on having family reunions every year. Just trying to get back what we lost I guess. I am also noticing a new movement of women going back home. They are being homemakers again and to me that is really so nice. There should be that option for women today along with the option to be all that you can be. LOL!

So I am just hoping to see a turn around in the divorce rate in this country one day. It is my prayer that marriages will heal, people will reconnect, families will live closer and to see people start gathering with their families and loving again. It would be really so nice.

~~~

~~~

~~~

~~~

THE PRESIDENTS

5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 Years of Love

Lyrics to Song here:

http://www.oldielyrics.com/lyrics/the_presidents/5-10-15-20_25-30_years_of_love.html

~~~

THE ORIGINALS

“Baby I’m For Real”

~~~

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 Years Of Love

  1. Karyl says:

    I agree with you that we have gone astray as a society. The home, marriage, and families are so important and vital to our well-being. I have been drawn to the Amish lately. I don’t want to be Amish but I sure want to adopt some of their beliefs and practices into my own life! Hard work, simplicity, the earth, God and family! And I love their clothes!

Leave a Reply

