My Grown Folks Slow Cooker Pumpkin Oatmeal

Yes, I know it’s kind of early in the year to start eating pumpkin, but pumpkin has always been one of my foodie weaknesses. I tell you, I am the type of person who can eat pumpkin pie and drink pumpkin lattes any time of the year. That’s just my style! My neighbor teases me about liking to have such a hot winter drink in the dead of summer. But I don’t give a hoot, live a little I say!

Catalan brandy

Catalan brandy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So early this morning I had a taste for some delicious oatmeal but I was tired of the same ole same ole kind of oatmeal, I wanted something more.

So I woke up very early to get it going along with Sunday’s dinner. And so I made a big batch so it can last us for at least a couple of days and so my husband can easily warm it up in the microwave in the morning before heading out the door tomorrow.

And yes, I must warn you that it is very tasty and I added the “brandy” to give it some zing! So watch out you may get hooked, for this Pumpkin Oatmeal is only for grown folks! LOL!

My Grown Folks Slow Cooker Pumpkin Oatmeal

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients:

3 cups of Regular rolled oats (or steel cut oatmeal)

1 cup of raisins

1 cup of brown sugar

1 cup of granulated sugar

2-3 teaspoons of pumpkin spice

2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

Wet Ingredients:

¾ of a 29 oz. can of Pumpkin puree

1 cup of regular butter milk

2-3 cups of whole milk

1 cup filtered water

3 Tablespoons of coconut oil

1-2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of butter flavor

1 cup of apple sauce (or a peeled and grated apple of your choice) (optional)

½ cup of brandy (or rum) (optional)

Juice of 1 small lemon

Topping:

½ cup of brandy (or rum)

1 cup cashews

1 cup pistachios

1 large banana (sliced)

1- ½ cup of brown sugar

½ stick of melted butter

Utensils:

You can choose between the two:

1- Oval 6 quart Crock Pot

along with a 3-4 quart oval (or round) glass baking dish

~OR~

1- 3-4 Quart crock pot

along with a slow cooker liner

1- large mixing bowl

1- large spoon

Oatmeal bowls and spoons

Table napkins

Directions:

1- In a large mixing bowl add and combine all the dry ingredients, then add in all the wet ingredients and mix together well.

2- Pour mixture into the lined crock pot or the glass baking dish.

(If you use the glass dish instead of putting a liner in the crock, make sure the glass dish fits into the crockpot easily. Then sit the empty glass baking dish in the crock and fill just the crock with enough water to be at a half way point of the glass baking dish. No water should go inside the glass baking dish. OK.)

3- Then level the ingredients in glass dish or lined crock.

4- Then evenly across the top of mixture, sprinkle brown sugar. Next top with a layer of bananas. Then drizzle melted butter and brandy on top of bananas and brown sugar. Then lastly sprinkle the nuts on top evenly across top.

5- Turn crock on High for first 3 hours then on low the last hour or so.

6. Dip your large spoon down into the bottom of the glass dish and pull some up to the top to serve.

7. Keep warm on the stove top some milk and a tea kettle full of hot boiling water.

8. Serve in large breakfast bowls.

This recipe comes out really rich and thick. So you may want to keep a tea kettle full of boiling hot water and a small pan of hot milk on the stove to add to the individual bowls or just stir a little more hot water or milk into your portion if you prefer your oatmeal to be a little thinner. My husband likes his thick and rich. I like mine both ways, it’s according to what side of the bed I wake up on. LOL!

SO PLEASE, I REALLY HOPE YOU ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS WE DO!

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

