Sunday Morning Belgian Waffles and Homemade (Mrs. Buttersworth) Pancake Syrup

 

Brussels Waffle (known in the USA as Belgian W...

Brussels Waffle (known in the USA as Belgian Waffle) with Strawberries (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When my husband and I woke up this past Sunday morning we had a taste for some Belgian waffles but then realized we were all out of pancake syrup. Oh no! The prepper in me said how could this have happened? I always like to keep the house well stocked with at least a few extra bottles of syrup in the pantry. So how did I let this happen?

Anyway, my husband doesn’t care what brand of pancake syrup he has with his pancakes or waffles because for him syrup is just syrup and he’s not impressed with any particular brand, but for me I must have Mrs. Buttersworth pancake syrup. I think the reason I always preferred Mrs. Buttersworth over other brands is because of the light molasses taste and the strong buttery flavor.

Mrs. Buttersworth pancake syrup is up there in the same category as my love for toffee, caramels and bit o’ honey candies, lol!. I love the smoothness and the creaminess of these flavors and how they melt ever so slowly in my mouth. I guess that’s why I also enjoy having caramel or toffee flavored milk in my coffee or tea and on top of my ice cream as well.

So to solve the no pancake syrup problem this morning I looked at the main ingredients on the back of the bottle label for inspiration, so minus the chemical preservatives I came up with my own quick and easy recipe for pancake syrup.

And after making it, I taste tested it and I loved it so much better than my favorite store brought Mrs. Buttersworth. So after it cooled off a bit, I made the waffles and we poured a tiny bit of this homemade syrup on our waffles and decided that we should bottle it and sell it! Ha….ha….ha! Well we liked how it tasted. So after that experiment I decided that I will never buy another bottle of pancake syrup again, especially if I have the few minutes it took to whip up this batch.

Pancake and waffle, served with sauces. Photo ...

Pancake and waffle, served with sauces. Photo taken in Jakarta, Indonesia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Homemade Mrs. Buttersworth Pancake Syrup Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup of brown sugar

2 cups of white sugar

3 or 4 cups of water

½ stick of butter or margarine (melted)

1-2 Tablespoons of black strap molasses (optional)

1 teaspoon of butter flavor

1 teaspoon of vanilla flavor

2 Tablespoons of corn starch (optional)

¼ cup of iced cold water

Cookware:

1 quart sized saucepan

1 medium sized mixing bowl

1 clean syrup bottle (I used the Buttersworth bottle) or container

Directions:

1. Blend all the ingredients in a bowl (except the corn starch)

2. Pour blended ingredients into a medium size saucepan, on medium heat.

3. Bring ingredients to a boil and simmer for two minutes.

4. Mix in a cup the corn starch and iced cold water.

5. Slowly pour and stir in the liquid cornstarch into the hot mixture.

6. Let simmer one more minute.

7. Turn off heat and allow syrup to cool a bit before serving.

8. Save remainder in a clean syrup bottle or container and refrigerate.

This recipe makes a little more or less of a quart of syrup. Pancake syrup is quite expensive these days, costing $4 and $5 dollars for a quart sized bottle. So now I just found another easy item to make at home that can save a few dollars on our grocery bill. So I am happy about that.

...Waffles!...

…Waffles!… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Morning Belgian Waffles and Homemade (Mrs. Buttersworth) Pancake Syrup

  1. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung! | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  2. Paul S says:

    I usually make do with a croissant, if I’m not having a cooked breakfast, but your waffles are on an entirely different culinary planet. Mouthwatering!

    PS. Thank you for the thoughtful comment you left me yesterday. It was appreciated.

    • it’s always a pleasure to leave such comments…..your welcome and that croissant sounds just as delicious. I haven’t had one in so long I can’t even remember. I think I’ll pick up some next time we grocery shop. So have a good day and thanks again for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

