So Weak For Black Beautiful Barbie Dolls

Barbie® Fashionistas™

Barbie® Fashionistas™ (Photo credit: Charles (dollstuff.net))

Official Black Dolls (I loved this one the most)

Up from a child I have always had and loved black dolls of all kinds.

Vintage Twist n' Turn Julia

Vintage Twist n’ Turn Julia (Photo credit: RomitaGirl67)

As a growing girl my mother made sure that all of my dolls were the same color as I was. She did this on purpose and the reason for it was to help build a healthy self-esteem about my own race of people. She knew how important it was for me to love my dark skin. So today I went searching and found some beautiful articles and videos that I enjoyed watching about the very subject. Wow these dolls are of all color tones, some cinnamon, mocha, chocolate, bronze and more. Although I like all sizes, shapes and types of dolls I do have a weakness for beautiful black Barbie dolls baby. For they are so amazing!

Pop Life™ Doll (African-American)

Pop Life™ Doll (African-American) (Photo credit: No-alternative)

So here’s a few spots I visited today, some on pinterest, a few blogs here and there and they were so interesting that I could have pined over them all day long if I had the time.

Why do you have black dolls?

2011 Black Doll and Gift Show

Why Black Dolls Matter (I loved this article best of all)
http://www.collectorsweekly.com/articles/black-is-beautiful-why-black-dolls-matter/

Pinterest beautiful black Barbie dolls

Harlem Moms for more black Barbie dolls and accessories
http://www.bet.com/news/fashion-and-beauty/2013/04/02/harlem-moms-petition-mattel-for-more-black-barbie-accessories.html

http://thetruthaccordingtotrey.blogspot.com/2011/12/its-time-for-natural-barbie.html

http://www.weefokedolls.net/2010-HOLIDAY-African-American-BARBIE-Doll-R4546.htm

http://www.bet.com/news/fashion-and-beauty/2011/12/15/group-gives-black-barbie-a-natural-makeover.html

http://blacklikemoi.com/2011/12/barbies-black-beauty/3/

http://styleblazer.com/93630/documentary-film-why-do-you-have-black-dolls-explores-beauty-and-cultural-identity/

 

Barbie booklet 1988

Barbie booklet 1988 (Photo credit: Freddycat1)

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Weak For Black Beautiful Barbie Dolls

  1. margretdj says:

    I got my first and only black doll when I was 15 years old in 1975. I still have my black doll and I name her “Monga”. I love her and brings me good memories…Thank you for this post.

    • cool…..and you still have it after so many years….that’s super special. I wish I still had my dolls from my childhood but it was unfortunate that my dolls were lost due to a fire, we had to move and was left with only the clothes on our backs. My mother was such a strong woman because she had to divide us up between different family members until she could find us another home.

Leave a Reply

