What To Do With My Rice Leftovers? Make A Creamy Broccoli And Rice Side Dish

Yesterday my husband and I did a tiny bit of shopping in preparation for our garden. We purchased some garden accessories and picked up some grey cement blocks with holes in the middle of them as we plan to fill them with potting soil and plant various types of pretty flowers in them. The idea we have is to place the flower filled blocks all around the edges of the many trees we have in the front yard.

5331 WDYBT celia birtwell garden tool set cut out

5331 WDYBT celia birtwell garden tool set cut out (Photo credit: wheredidyoubuythat.com)

While at the store buying the blocks I noticed there were some wooden planks laying around the store and so the shop keeper was kind enough to let us have a few of them for free and I was so very happy about it. We plan to have them white washed and use them to stack our potted plants on top of them in the back yard and over by the road way. I just know it’s going to look so pretty when it’s all done.

So we are excited about the springtime getting closer and for the past few days the weather has warmed up a bit here in the South. So I am looking forward to my creative juices to flowing as we are getting the yard cleaned and freshened up. Throwing out last year’s old front and back door mats and replacing them with new ones. Also getting the house power washed and fresh paint touch ups here and there and everywhere. LOL!

5329 WDYBT celia birtwell pretty woman garden ...

5329 WDYBT celia birtwell pretty woman garden gloves (Photo credit: wheredidyoubuythat.com)

We are also looking forward to having a fuller vegetable garden this year. As I always look forward to eggplant and tomatoes but we want to try a few different varieties of vegetables this year, you know something we have never grown before.

And I told my husband that I have always wanted to try my hand at canning a little. So next month we want look at buying a quality yet inexpensive canning system and for my first try at doing canning because I want to learn how to make my very own pasta sauce but we will see how it all goes.

I guess you say what does that have to do with this recipe. Well I figured why not get some journaling in while sharing a recipe I have come to adore and love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~                    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~                ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chicken Curry

Chicken Curry (Photo credit: naotakem)

So today I had a taste for some kind of creamy white mushroom sauce to make with the leftover Basmati Rice from the weekend and I pondered over what creative delicious thing I should make. Then I thought of adding a can of mushroom soup and fresh broccoli to the rice. Then I thought of making a pot of stewed curried chicken, Indian style flat bread and yogurt to go along with this side dish. My husband loved it! Then for dessert we each had a slice of cold lemon supreme cake and two of scoops of my favorite butter pecan ice-cream.  This was such a delicious meal and it made my day kind of wonderful. I must tell you that it’s been quite a good while since I had some curried chicken and so it was quite a treat and went perfectly with this recipe.

Chicken Tikka Masala served with naan bread, a...

Chicken Tikka Masala served with naan bread, an onion bhaji and basmati rice coloured with turmeric and garnished with fresh coriander. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Creamy Broccoli & Rice Recipe:

Ingredients:

4 cups of leftover precooked and well seasoned Basmati Rice

5 cups of broccoli Florets (Chopped/Fresh or Frozen)

3-4 TBS of Olive Oil

½ medium Onion (chopped)

1 can of Campbell’s condensed mushroom soup

2 cups of water

½ packet of Lipton dehydrated onion soup mix

Cookware:

One medium skillet

Directions:

1- Add olive oil into skillet

2- Add onions and brown on medium heat

3- Add the rice and chopped broccoli

4- Stir and mix together coating the rice and broccoli in the olive oil cooking for 2 minutes

5- Add rest of ingredients and bring to boil

6- Turn on low heat and let simmer for about 10 to 20 minutes.

Broccoli and rice

Broccoli and rice (Photo credit: HatM)

So the weather has warmed up quite a bit here in the south. After cooking this easy dinner early in the day today it gave me the chance to go outdoors and sip on a cool glass of lemon limeade. I love sitting in my favorite rocker on the front porch enjoying the glorious peace and quiet.

The Porch / Hosta

The Porch / Hosta (Photo credit: bill barber)

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What To Do With My Rice Leftovers? Make A Creamy Broccoli And Rice Side Dish

  1. Karyl says:

    That dish looks really yummy. Also, I need a rocker for our back deck. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great compliment to Chicken Tikka Masala.

Leave a Reply

