THE POOR MAN’S CAVIAR RECIPE

English: Seven different types of fish roe Deu...

English: Seven different types of fish roe Deutsch: Sieben verschiedene Fischrogenarten (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How I love Caviar, it is most delicious but as we all know it can be quite expensive.

So my mother in law created this delicious recipe and calls it “Poor Man’s Caviar” and it spreads very well on any kind of crackers. When I first tasted it I was impressed but felt it should have been called a spread instead. Anyway most of my friends and family tasted this recipe and was amazed at the delicious saltiness and the combination of the flavors and so they almost always ask me to sneak the recipe to them.

Well you might not believe how incredibly delicious this inexpensive simple snack is until you try it for yourselves. The recipe has only about six ingredients, it’s super easy to make and requires no flame and so I am one for a snack that requires no cooking.

I enjoy snacking on this recipe at least once a week (as a way to get in some calcium and vitamin D and Omega) and I like it best after having eggplant for dinner. My husband likes to have this recipe with a cold jug of beer on the side on Fridays after a long work week.

They can be absolutely delicious as part of a hors d’oeure tray…..at a party beside other various hors d’oeure or snacks served to calm the munchies on movie night. LOL!

Français : Olives vertes

Français : Olives vertes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I cannot take total credit for this delicious salty snack except for adding my own little twist to it as I always do to most any recipe I get from others. I added in the olives because I love them so much and the toasted sesame oil and the smoke flavor. Sometimes I’ll add in the two or three of these different flavors or do without them. But I find the combined flavors add so much more taste to the recipe.

So they like to call it the Poor Man’s Caviar because of the salty deliciousness and the cheap price. LOL! It’s amazing how creative you can get with a two dollar ($2) can of sardines.

Well it is my hope that if you are a sardine lover that you’ll try it and “if you like it” please feel free to come back by my blog and share!

Sardines

Sardines (Photo credit: Andrea_Nguyen)

The Poor Man’s Caviar Recipe

Ingredients:

1 or 2 cans of Sardines (I prefer Brunswick sardines in soybean oil and hot green chilies or the ones in hot sauce or in mustard second)

Hot Sauce

(8-10 dashes of….I prefer red devil hot sauce)

3-4 tablespoons of cooking oil

(I prefer olive oil)

1 teaspoon of organic toasted sesame oil (optional)

and/or a few dashes of smoke flavor

1 package of crackers

(I prefer saltine crackers)

1/2 cup of whole green stuffed olives (strain off liquid and cut them in half)

1/2 cup of whole black olives (strain off liquid and cut them in half)

1/2 small/tiny green chili or 1/2 red chili (strained and diced)

Directions:

1-Strain and then slice all the olives in halves.

2-Remove the whole sardines from the can onto a plate and cut the sardines in half pulling apart the tiny string of bones and put the bones aside in a small mixing bowl (reserve oil and green chilies in the can for later use)

3- Smash up the bones in the bowl with a fork and then add the sardines and continue to smash the sardines with the fork making them become like a smooth paste.

4- Add the 3-4 tablespoons of oil over the sardines.

5- Pour in 1/2 of the reserved oil from the sardine can and the tiny pieces of chilies to the mixture.

6- Sprinkle in at least 4-8 dashes of hot sauce over the sardines.

7- Add in the diced green chilies and mix all the ingredients together really good.

(It’s important that this mixture be very moist because it tends to be dry….so if it looks a little too tight and dry in consistency please go on ahead and add two more tablespoons of oil to it and a few more squirts of hot sauce and mix it together)

8- Spread out the mixture and sprinkle and spread overtop 3-4 more dashes of the hot sauce over the sardine mixture and don’t mix it.

9- Spoon and spread one heaping teaspoon of the sardine mixture onto each cracker one at a time and place them on a serving plate.

Español: Sardinas enlatadas

Español: Sardinas enlatadas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

10- Then top alternate each sardine covered cracker with one or several halved stuffed olives and one or several black olives.

11- Now ready to serve.

*You can also put the mixture over a salad instead of crackers too.*

*try it with a can of fish steaks. I also made this same recipe with a package of the wet packaged deli fresh raw smoked salmon which is a bit more expensive or you can use canned smoked salmon minis the adding the smoke flavor nor the roasted sesame oil and instead adding a few sprigs of fresh chopped parsley and believe me this is so delicious this way too*

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE POOR MAN’S CAVIAR RECIPE

  1. Pingback: Can You Stop The Rain? Jackson Heights | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  2. viveka says:

    Very interesting – never heard about before … just be some kind a Tapenade. Not of fan of sardines in oil .. but I will bookmark this recipe, very curious.

Leave a Reply

