Donating: Hobby Prepping

Tasty Food Abundance in Healthy Europe

Tasty Food Abundance in Healthy Europe (Photo credit: epSos.de)

I must say, prepping has become a hobby for me. I love it! I really enjoy doing it, reading anything about it and watching any shows on cable that has to do with it. It has become a way of life for me. I have to tell you that I don’t do it out of fear, but I do it because it is so much fun! 🙂 I especially love watching that show called “Dooms Day Preppers” and going to different Prepper web sites to learn all I can. Not only that, but anything that has to do with prepping is such a good read for me. I enjoy learning all I can while I still can. Learning new skills and reading about different ideas and anything that has to do with it is amazing. It also gives me something to do and pass the time doing.

Canned Goods

Canned Goods (Photo credit: DaveWilsonPhotography)

Well just before leaving to enjoy the Christmas holidays with my family and friends. I decided to look through some of our cans and food storage and to my surprise we had some cans of food expire and some that is about two months to six months away from their expiration dates. I know some preppers don’t mind hanging onto some expired foods but I am one who doesn’t, especially if I don’t have to. I could very easily replace them and I prefer to keep my shelf stocked with unexpired goods. Also most preppers rotate their food so that they are not losing anything which is cool. But I feel like since I still have access to a grocery store and could get more food, especially fresh foods then I’d rather get rid of any expired cans and replace them and even better I feel good about donating the canned goods that is about to expire within the next two to six month period. So I get a chance to do a good deed in the process. Plus my neighbor knows which families around here that are in need for groceries right away and so I pass a lot of cans onto her too.

Old Style Cash Register and Canned Goods in a ...

Old Style Cash Register and Canned Goods in a Butcher Shop in New Ulm, Minnesota …, 10/1974 (Photo credit: The U.S. National Archives)

So since I see prepping as a hobby, I feel ok with donating these cans. So since I still prefer eating as fresh as possible and my husband and I never like eating food from cans at all most times, because the only way I’ll cook canned goods is when I don’t have time or the chance to fix something much fresher and healthier. So the main reason for stocking up cans is so I have a choice between starvation and living well if any SHTF situations occurs anytime soon.

Recently I was able to get more freeze dried 20 year self life food and add it to my stock pile. So I guess that also had something to do with my decision regarding this as well.

Fresh fruit and vegetables

Fresh fruit and vegetables (Photo credit: Mundoo)

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Donating: Hobby Prepping

  1. Pingback: Hobby Prepping Gives a Mind Frame of Being Prepared for Almost Anything | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

