My Hidden Faults: The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

Rose

Rose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There is so much good in worst of us

and so much bad in the best of us

that none of us

could talk about the rest of us.

~~~ 

~Mama’s Sayings~

~~~

I hope I quoted mama’s saying exactly right…… because I am trying my best to remember how she used to say this stuff to me and my siblings while growing up at home. The above saying is one of the many many words Mama used to tell us. Also this is one of her favorites of scriptures.

How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart?

Cleanse me from these hidden faults

Psalm 19:12 NLT 

She used to tell us that even the best of God’s people can make mistakes….. and the reason for it is because people are incapable of understanding the real nature of evil and how it works in us.

But God is merciful! She’d say………..

So when we pray and humbly ask…..God forgives us and cleanses us from our secret faults.

It’s not so much about the things done in secret but it basically is referring to the mistakes/sins that can go undetected and what is amazing is that it is only God who can see past the entire exterior and see what is truly within a heart. There is no mistaking about this fact.

I used to be amazed at how wise my mother was and how well she used to explain things about life to us. She would say that there are mistakes/sins committed thru the running of that piece of leather in our mouths….. (meaning our tongues) …..and that carelessness or idle words can hurt someone really badly and although it could or may have been done unintentionally it still is done and it can hurt someone. So she said it’s always wise to not talk too much or get too involved with idle talk when your trying to live for God. She used to tell us to be wise as a serpent and harmless as a dove. Don’t run over other peoples feelings, so it is wise to be gentle because the word of God is the truth that is going to cut anyway because some people just don’t want to hear the truth sometimes. So be as gentle as you can be when trying to explain things. She was such a sweet and gentle soul.

Then she would say that the truth is that some things about us as individuals are so well hidden and unless someone helps you and brings it out and to your attention you could really miss it.

She would say that no one can cleanse themselves from this because sometimes you just cannot see where you are in error…..so this is a job for God. LOL! It’s only thru the applying of the blood of God’s son that we can be made clean from any and all types of mistakes/sins of this nature.

So since human beings are prone to mistakes/sin it’s best for a child of God to be humble most of the time, because even the best of us have the tendency to mess up. The Bible calls them presumptuous sins.

So the scripture says:

Who can understand his errors?

Cleanse thou me from secret faults

Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins.

Let them not have dominion over me.

Then shall I be upright.

And I shall be innocent from the great transgression.

Let the words of my mouth

and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in they sight,

O’ Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.

Psalm 19:12-14

      ~~~

…………..I even love the various translations about this very thing………

Who can detect his own mistake? Cleanse me from my hidden sin.(International Standard Version)

~~~

Who can notice every mistake? Forgive my hidden faults. (GWBible-God’s Word Translation)

~~~

Who can know all his errors? Please do not punish me for sins I am unaware of. (NET Bible)

~~~

Who perceives his unintentional sins? Cleanse me from my hidden faults.(English Standard Version)

~~~

English: A red rose with dewdrops Français : U...

English: A red rose with dewdrops Français : Une rose rouge avec des gouttes de rosée (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Our Undiscovered Faults J. R. Miller, 1894 “How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart? Cleanse me from my hidden faults.” Psalms 19:12 The Bible speaks of sins of ignorance. So there are sins which we commit, of which we are not conscious. In one of the Psalms, there is a prayer to be cleansed from secret or hidden faults.

Read the Scripture: Psalm 19 Forgive my hidden faults. Keep your servant also from willful sins; may they not rule over me. Then will I be blameless, innocent of great transgression (Psalm 19:12b-13). Forgive my hidden faults. Is that your prayer? Do you know what will happen when you pray that way? You might think that God […

roses

roses (Photo credit: ** RCB **)

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Hidden Faults: The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

  1. gita4elamats says:

    A wise woman, your mama!

Leave a Reply

