Brandy’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese (10 Cheese Recipe)

English: Closeup of macaroni and cheese with a...

English: Closeup of macaroni and cheese with a panko breadcrumb topping as served by Blue at 2337 Market Street in San Francisco, California, USA. “Gourmet Mac & Cheese: Fresh mozzarella, sharp cheddar, Parmesan, elbow pasta, topped with Japanese bread crumbs.” Description from their online menu as viewed on 2007-06-01. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Friday Everyone!

I love to think back to the days when my girlfriends and I used to take turns to host get together’s, cook, eat and party at each others homes on Friday nights. Well there was one friend in our group who used to make some of the best baked macaroni and cheese in this entire world. I never could figure out how there was so much cheese in her recipe and how shiny and glistening her dish would always be. It was not only shiny but delicious to the point that there was never any left over’s. We ate it all! LOL! One day she finally gave in to my numerous requests for her recipe. So let me see if I can remember all of the cheeses she used to use? ummm…. 10 cheeses that is.

My friend Brandy always made hers with macaroni but I changed the recipe a tad bit and so I always liked to use Ziti instead of macaroni and added mozzarella to my dish most times. My reasoning being that I always had a slew of hungry men around (husband, brothers, son, nephew’s, uncle’s, in-laws) and over for dinner most of the time, who preferred the chunkiness of the Ziti over macaroni and the added stringiness of mozzarella cheese. Sometimes I would cook a bit of browned ground beef in garlicky tomatoe sauce as a side dish on a toasted bun, but would sometimes put a little buttermilk, butter, eggs and seasoning in the cheese dish or even add a bread crumb topping to it for crunchiness. I always liked to play around with my recipes and change up every now and then from the same ole same ole. But in this recipe I am keeping it as close to the way Brandy always made it and how we loved it.

So it’s here to share with some of you macaroni and cheese lovers. All the best! This post is dedicated to my old friend Brandy where ever you are girlfriend!

Brandy’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese

(Quick melt 10 Cheese Recipe)

Ingredients:

One or two 16 ounce box of Mueller’s Macaroni or Ziti (cooked Al dente and drained)

½ or 1 pound of each cheese (diced into small pieces for easy melting)

Swiss

Mild Cheddar

Sharp Cheddar

Colby

Monterey Jack

Velveeta Cheese (no need to dice)

Provolone

Shredded Mozarella (optional)

1-1/2 cup of Kraft’s grated Parmesan cheese

1-1/2 cup of Kraft’s grated Romano cheese

Pam cooking spray

Double boiler quart pan or

slightly greased quart pan

or non stick quart pan

1 Large Glass Casserole dish (13 by 9 inch oblong pan) or some kind of deep dish baking pan

Directions:

Pre heat oven at 375 degrees.

Pour drained and cooked Macaroni or Ziti evenly in the lightly greased or sprayed (Pam cooking oil spray) glass casserole dish.

Place in a 3 quart double boiler/pan, all 9 of the cheeses (except mozzarella) to be melted together on medium to low heat. (It’s important to stay with the cheese and keep stirring until all cheeses are thoroughly melted, smooth, combined and with no chucks.)

Pour the smooth hot melted cheese right over top of the cooked macaroni/ziti in the casserole dish.

Sprinkle bits of the shredded mozzarella cheese all across the top and down the middle.(the mozzarella cheese is optional, Brandy didn’t use it in her recipe. I added it to mine.)

Place casserole dish in pre heated 375 degree oven and let it bake for about 25 to 35 more minutes uncovered.

Remove from oven and serve while hot.

*If you try it you will have the opportunity to enjoy one of the most delicious baked macaroni and cheese dishes ever. Trust me when I tell ya! *

Ziti a la Lasagna

Ziti a la Lasagna (Photo credit: holycalamity)

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Brandy’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese (10 Cheese Recipe)

  1. words4jp says:

    My fave dish in the whole wide world – Mac and Cheese – I will give this recipe a go:)

  2. Karyl says:

    p.s. I shared this post on my FB page. Hope you get some views, likes and comments. Not that I have that many friends or anything but a few! 🙂

  3. Karyl says:

    That looks good. Mac and cheese in one of my specialties. I do experiment with different cheeses. I always put in butter, milk and eggs too. And, my secret ingredient that is now not so secret: nutmeg. 🙂

    Recipe from my Mom. Nutmeg is all mine baby! LOL!

Leave a Reply

