BABY STEPS TO PREPPING AND FOOD STORAGE: PT. TWO

food supplies

food supplies (Photo credit: ksbuehler)

So this is just a continuation of how you can take steps toward prepping as I share about my own experience as I go along.

 C. STARTING YOUR STORAGE

Sams Club

Sams Club (Photo credit: Plan for Opportunity)

I usually buy all of my supplies at a big warehouse (like BJ’s or Sams Club) or when I can catch a sale on items in a local grocery store or at certain seasons when certain items are on sale.

Another tip is anyone can buy lots of items from the DOLLAR STORE. The dollar store is amazing because they have all sorts of foods, household items and things you can get really cheaply. Every once in a while my husband and I go to the dollar store and buy anywhere from twenty dollars on up to one hundred dollars worth of items to put away for prepping. It’s amazing you can even store ten items with ten dollars easily.

1. Start Storing Water and Water Filters (This can be done immediately)

Purchasing Spring Water: (from whole sale water companies)

Water Bottles

Water Bottles (Photo credit: ikrichter)

The first thing I did to start with prepping is to purchase the 4 gallon bottles of water until I had enough to last for and entire month. So that’s seven 4 gallon bottles of water which gives a family of two, one gallon of drinking water per person per day.

Then I bumped it up to having two months supply of clean drinking water so I have on hand fourteen four gallon bottles of water. 

Self Bottling of Faucet Water:

Then I knew we still needed to store water for cooking, washing dishes, bathing, showers, washing clothes. So I saved over time some 50 empty gallon water bottles we used and filled them up with tap water from the kitchen sink, then putting a drop of bleach in each bottle and placed five to seven bottles underneath each bathroom sink, underneath the kitchen sink, the laundry room and lined across the pantry wall and floor of the pantry. So every six months or so my husband goes around emptying the bottles and refilling them all again to keep the water fresh. (also you can purchase 4 or 5 gallon bottle stacks online)

Water Filters: (all you need is one to start)

I purchased two Seychelles water pitchers in which each pitcher can last for a little over one year. And also I purchased some Brita water filter water bottles. Next time around I want to buy two more to last for two more years.

2. Start Storing Food

So simultaneously along with purchasing water which took me one full year to do. I started storing food. I only buy the foods I know we like, need to eat and is nutritionally sound. It’s possible to start food storage with just an extra $2 to $20 dollars or more per week. And the truth is wherever you start you will be ahead of most people who do not think they should prep at all.

Beans, Rice, Potatoes, Pasta, Noodles  

Rice Diversity. Part of the image collection o...

Rice Diversity. Part of the image collection of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started purchasing bags and bags of all kinds of dried beans and wet canned beans, (because we eat lots of beans already) along with bags and bags of a variety of rice and boxes of pasta and noodles (I purchased dried beans first then bags of basmati rice). Then I purchased cans and cans of beans, white potatoes and canned yams and finally some freeze dried potatoes. (the freeze dried foods can last for 15 to 20 years and still taste good). So I have some freeze dried but I am still working on getting more.

Wet Canned Goods

I started with canned vegetables like carrots, peas, string beans, corn, greens, tomato sauce, and tomato paste. Also canned fruits like peaches, pineapple, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, pears, manderin oranges, strawberries and mixed fruit. Then after that I started buying canned meats like spam, ham, tuna fish, salmon and sardines. It’s really easy to do just start somewhere and watch how your stores can grow over time.

Dry Canned Goods

Oatmealraisins2

Oatmealraisins2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then I started buying dry canned oatmeal, grits, flour, cornmeal, wheat, cereals and beans and rice.

Spices, Sea Salt, Sugar, Soft Drink Mixes, Dried Eggs, Teas, Coffee, Cocoa

Spice Drawer

Spice Drawer (Photo credit: 427)

Then I started buying all sort of spices, powders, salt and sugar and etcetera.

Boxed Cake Mixes, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Yeast

I try to stock up on all kinds of cake mixes, muffin, biscuits, cookie and cornbread mixes. Most of these mixes only require a little water to bake it. And also quick baking times.

Cooking Oils, Popcorn, Nuts, Chocolate, Candies

Popcorn icon

Popcorn icon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then I purchased gallon sized oils, (olive oils, canola, Ghee, coconut oil, Lard, vegetable oils) bags of popcorn mixes, nuts and hard various kinds of candies.

Now my next step is to buy at least a one year supply of 20 year shelf life freeze dried foods and a huge bucket of garden seeds. I have some freeze dried foods but not as much as I would like to have. So I am working on it.

Freeze Dried Foods

Some people start immediately with the 15 to 20 year shelf life freeze dried food and be done with it. But I like the idea of having both freeze dried and canned foods.

3. Other Things Necessary

Toilet Paper, Paper Plates, Paper Towels, Plastic Forks, Knives and Spoons

Each time I buy paper products I buy one to use and one extra one to store away.

coleman_stove

coleman_stove (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Candles, Matches, Camping Cook Stove, Stove Gas, Batteries

I did a one time purchase of these items and put them away.

Soap, Detergent, Dish Liquid, Toothpaste, Lotion, Hair Lotion, Shampoo and Conditioner, Deodorant, Tooth Brushes, Female Sanitary Items

Item’s like these I started with buying one to use and one to store away.

Writing pads, Pens, Pencils, Staplers, Clips, Magic Markers, Note Books, book lights, scotch tape, masking tape, duct tape.

Pens on my Desk

Pens on my Desk (Photo credit: pigpogm)

I purchased a bunch and stored away in a bin. The best time to buy is when kids are going back to school.

Clothing, Shoes, Socks, Underwear

The word is to keep the clothing you have and to buy plenty of underwear, socks and shoes, warm gloves, hats and coats, slippers, thermal wear. You know things you would not be capable of making yourself.

Personal Medicines and at least three First Aid Kits

English: Antique first aid kit. Rexalt brand.

English: Antique first aid kit. Rexalt brand. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have purchased two first aid kits, plus extra band aids, rubbing alcohol, peroxide, anti itch creams. Bottles and bottles of pain relievers like Tylenol, Motrin, and aspirin. And also a few months supply of personal medications. Plastic gloves, masks and gowns and hand sanitizer.

Plastics, Bins, Bowls, Utensils:

The word is you won’t be capable of purchasing plastic bins and things so get a few and store away.

Extra sets of sheets, towels, blankets, curtains

One thing I am learning is that I should think on terms that I may not have access to these things so easily so I try to store an ample amount.

seeds

seeds (Photo credit: Duncan Creamer)

Yard tools, Axe, Garden tools, general tool box (filled with nails, thumb tacks, hammer) Garden Seeds, bags of top soil, fertilizer etc. 

These items you might need.

Insect repellant, Insect sprays and Traps

This is the kind of stuff no one thinks about but you will still need.

Ladies Glamour:

Makeup collection.

Makeup collection. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And for us ladies we can start putting aside specific things we will need like nail polish, remover, lipsticks and lip gloss, foundation, eye liner and eye shadow. You know all the girly stuff. If you are anything like me I have hoards of the stuff anyway.

Entertainment:

Monopoly board on white bg

Monopoly board on white bg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Plenty of educational books, board games, several sets of playing cards, puzzle books, coloring books, jacks, crayons, chalk, toys, books on first aid, books of jokes, books of poems, the classics, inspirational books, bibles, novels, crafts, yarns, painting kits and sewing items. These are the types of things you want to have because if you have no electricity these kinds of things will help you pass the time that will be on your hands. It will feel like time is moving so slowly so you want to have a little distraction and fun.

D. BIG SCALE ITEMS

English: Wood pellet stove

English: Wood pellet stove (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bigger items to consider and may include the purchase of a fuel-less generator, outdoor generator, electric heat blankets, rain catchments systems, like barrels or baby swimming pools (to blow up)( its very important to have a plan for water storage) solar panels, wood stove, solar stove, and this list can go on and on. But you can definitely learn about all these areas as you move along with your prepping and food storage.

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BABY STEPS TO PREPPING AND FOOD STORAGE: PT. TWO

  1. Pingback: Are You Prepping/Preparing? It wouldn’t Hurt If You Did | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  2. Pingback: On My Wish List: Freeze Dried Survival Food Buckets, Freeze Dried Ice-Cream and Snacks | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  3. Pingback: BABY STEPS TO PREPPING AND FOOD STORAGE: PT. ONE | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  4. Karyl says:

    Do you store things in case of emergencies? Just to have?

  5. I sure need this! Love it and will try to remember!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

