Slow Cooker Hot and Spicy Eggplants with Potatoes

a slow cooker Oval Crock Pot

a slow cooker Oval Crock Pot (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been trying my very best to get away from the “Franken Foods” (processed and refined foods) and instead to eat mostly fresh and healthy types of foods along with a wide variety of foods instead. So since I have to deal with my arthritis pain and other health issues I know that now more then ever I need to eat right. So one day a light bulb went off in my head and I figured that the only way I could do this and not stand over the hot stove all day (which I am unable to do now anyway) was to use the crock pot. Owning a crock pot is the easiest way to go for me. It’s almost effortless work to get a good meal on the table and I can choose to make a one pot meal or a three course meal very easily. So a crock pot and a food processor together have been a blessing. So I have been learning how to make nutritious easy fresh soups, beans, meats and even desserts like Banana’s Foster, peach and berry cobbler and applesauce made from fresh fruit while controlling the amount of sugar that goes into these types of desserts.

So cooking from a Slow Cooker makes my life so much easier because all I have to do is dump all the ingredients in the crock-pot and walk away. Then hours later return to an amazing meal with flavors that get blended together to create such a delicious aroma and great tasting healthy meal. So I only cook everything from my slow cooker.

I absolutely love eggplant and I like it baked, fried or topped with cheese or cooked in tomatoe sauce and I am as happy as a lark. Although a lot of people I know don’t really eat a lot of eggplant but when they make and taste eggplant made in this way it’s wonderful to see how much they enjoy it. So I own this cook book named “The Indian Slow Cooker by Anupy Singla” and my recipe comes from her recipe named “Punjabi Eggplants with Potatoes” but I have to tell you that no matter what the recipe I always tweak them a bit to suit my own personal taste and so I wind up having to rename them. So I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

And this recipe is being posted today at the request of one blogging friend over at “Salutation Recipes” as promised. The recipes over at this blog is so amazing!!! http://salutationrecipes.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/c-ls-onion-bhajis/#comment-660

Slow Cooker Hot & Spicy Eggplants with Potatoes

Ingredients:

3-4 medium Eggplants, diced

6-7 large Red Potatoes, peeled and diced

2- Small Carrots, grated

1 medium Yellow Onion, peeled and chopped

1 piece of fresh Ginger Root, (1/2 inch long) peeled and chopped

6-7 large cloves of Garlic

1-2 hot Green Pepper or 1-2 Cayenne Pepper, chopped

1 tablespoon of Cumin Seeds

1 tablespoon of Red Chili Powder

1 or 2 teaspoon of Garam Masala (I prefer to use only one teaspoon)

1 teaspoon of Turmeric

½ teaspoon each of Curry, Ginger, Garlic and Onion Powders

1 cup of Olive Oil

2 tablespoons of Salt

2 tablespoons of Goya Cilantro Sauce

1 tablespoon of fresh Cilantro, chopped

Directions:

Step One: Put the vegetables in a food processor one at a time to roughly chop them up.

First the peeled onion, gingerroot, garlic and hot green pepper then add to the crock.

Next the peeled halved potatoes then add to the crock.

Finally the quartered Eggplant then add to the crock.

Step Two: Put in all the spices except the salt. Save the salt for later. Add in the oil and stir or blend together everything in the pot.

Step Three: Let cook on low for 3 hours. Then after 3 hours you can remove the lid and cook for up to 2 hours or until the moisture has evaporated out of this dish.

Step Four: Add salt.

So now you may serve this dish with Roti, Naan or Pita and either some sour cream, yogurt or creamed avocado.

Aubergines from http://www.usda.gov/oc/photo/9...

Aubergines from http://www.usda.gov/oc/photo/98c0468.jpg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

************************************************************************

Also you may watch here: The Indian Slow Cooker author Anupy Singla on a TV morning show and see how she makes a slow cooker Indian chicken curry:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Yp9WJVPKWk

I found the recipe on this page too, at the perfect pantry along with the images: http://www.theperfectpantry.com/2011/07/recipe-for-slow-cooker-punjabi-eggplant-with-potatoes.html

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slow Cooker Hot and Spicy Eggplants with Potatoes

  1. Karyl says:

    That looks so good. I will try it! 🙂

  2. seeker says:

    Ehem…. eggplant is a inflammatory food. I love eggplant myself but have to avoid it from now on. How I wish I can try your recipe.

  3. Lucy says:

    Sounds delicious and I’m like you trying to eat more natural foods. So thank you!
    Lucy 🙂

Leave a Reply

