Heat Wave!

Poolside: 6.21.2008

Poolside: 6.21.2008 (Photo credit: Jesse757)

So I am sending a shout out to all New Yorkers and to the entire northeast regions to be and stay safe. With temperatures rising above 90 degrees all week this week, the meteorologists at the National Weather Service advises this heat can be super dangerous if precautions are not taken.

So people take it easy as far as outdoor activities are concerned.

Also the experts at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration advise that people should slow down, avoid strenuous activity. Dress light and loose, drink lots of water, eat light foods, chill in the shade, seek out air-conditioning places and to check on the elderly. Give plenty water to your pets and don’t leave anyone alone in a parked car especially small children.

In the south we have learned to do what you need to do early in the morning or late in the evening instead of in the middle of the day when the heat is so overwhelming. But to tell you the truth I have been staying indoors with the air-conditioning because it’s just too hot to stand out doors. I mean you can basically do nothing and stand there and watch the sweat pour off your body. LOL.

I know people are making use of a cool swimming pool somewhere, or beach with the kids anyway. I always carry with me a spray bottle of water to mist myself while outdoors or in the house too. Or even use a cold compress.

No pool or beach nearby, no problem, I remember last summer when we had an electricity outage due to a storm, so in all that heat I put on my bathing suit and ran a cool tub of water in which I took a dip in through out the day. But with this bad case of arthritis my husband had to help me get in and get out. LOL!  So this time if it happens again I plan to take it easy on myself and just keep the cold shower running in which I could easily get in and get out of on my own. So people do what ever you can do to keep yourself cool.

And don’t forget the sunscreen, most people use high SPF sunscreen frequently. But there is a natural herbal sunscreen remedy too called St. Joan’s Wort Oil, this oil is a natural sunscreen and is easy on the environment for those of us who want to GO GREEN.

Lot’s of Love to you!

Martha and the Vandellas 2011 at Berns in Stoc...

Martha and the Vandellas 2011 at Berns in Stockholm, Sweden (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Love Is Like a Heat Wave: Martha & the Vandellas

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XE2fnYpwrng

Linda Ronstadt: Singing Heat Wave too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZFNs1wa4K0

 

Martha and The Vandellas

Cover of Martha and The Vandellas

Heatwave Lyrics

by Martha and the Vandellas
Whenever I’m with you
Something inside starts burning
and my heart’s filled with fire

Stop this – it’s got a hold on me
I said this ain’t the way it’s supposed to be

It’s like a heatwave burning in my heart
I can’t keep from crying
Tearing me apart

Whenever he calls my name
Sounds so soft sweet and plain
Right then, right there
I feel this burning pain
This high blood pressure’s got a hold on me
I said this ain’t the way love’s supposed to be

It’s like a heatwave burning in my heart
I can’t keep from crying
Tearing me apart

Whenever I’m with you
Something inside starts burning
And my hearts filled with fire

Something’s got me amazed
Don’t know what to do
My head’s in a haze

It’s like a heatwave burning in my heart
I can’t keep from crying
Tearing me apart

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heat Wave!

  1. gita4elamats says:

    Hope it cools down soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

