Yard Sale

Garage Sale Sign

Garage Sale Sign (Photo credit: Chiot’s Run)

We had a one day yard sell this week. We sold everything at Salvation Army prices ($1 to $5) and OMG! People were buying almost everything we had out there. I was really surprised at how they were piling up on things and one lady came back twice. They purchased over half of my clothing that I no longer wanted.

It’s always a good idea to purge from having too much stuff in the house, even if it’s just a little. So everything that did not sell we are planning to take and donate to the Salvation Army.

I could not believe that we had so much stuff to get rid of. But as I look back into the house I can see even more things that need to go. I never could understand how we got to this place where there is too much stuff in the house. We really need to get rid of all of these things. I have just too many books, magazines, clothes, shoes, boots and things. My husband is so wonderful and amazing in that he carried everything outdoors. He set up the tables and chairs and heavy boxes full of books and clothing. I really did not have to do much of anything except sit there, lol.

I am hoping to get to a place of being more minimal, Zen like, simple and un-hoarding.

You know having open spaces with out having to have something in every corner and every available space in the house. I know I have a long way to go but I know we are getting closer to our goals. There was a time when I had triple the amount of stuff I have now. I guess purging is a process. I was watching the hoarders show and OMG I do not want to suffer from this kind of mental illness. I really am getting better at letting go of more and more stuff.

I remember as a kid my parents did not have so much stuff. We had the basics and even in the clothing department we had just enough clothes to wear to school for a week and a week’s supply of play clothes, two pairs of shoes and one pair of running shoes. We had a play room with a few sets of toys and we were not overwhelmed with too many toys.

I just don’t understand how we got to this place of having way too much stuff. But I guess it’s all a part of giving into the advertisement world.

It is my dream to create and make my home into a minimalist, simple and Zen like space.  Here’s a few interesting blogs to check out regarding this topic.

http://treadingmyownpath.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/my-new-minimalist-living-space-the-confessions-of-a-hoarder/

http://www.wikihow.com/Live-Like-a-Minimalist

http://frugal-living.yoexpert.com/frugal-living-general/what-is-a-minimalist-and-how-do-i-live-a-minimalis-1799.html

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yard Sale

  1. Have you seen the show Clean House? It was like Hoarders but funnier and it always ended with a huge yard sale. I found an episode online: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0-nAGFeaLg

    Was it difficult for you to part with some of the things you sold?

    • Yes I love that show. I am just sorry it’s not on cable anymore. Neicy Nash is fantastic and your right it is such a funny show. And it wasn’t difficult for me to part with the things I put out to go, because we have just too much stuff. I think we should do it at least once a year. So have a great day!

  2. seeker says:

    Looks good. I like the simplicity.

Leave a Reply

