Fast Foods Back in the Day

After dinner my husband and I were enjoying eating some mouth watering delicious watermelon and talking about our first experiences with eating fast foods. I told him I remember the very first time I had eaten at McDonalds and how every once in a while my mother would take us to eat dinner out after work.

My mom was a very good math teacher in the two world trade center in Manhattan just before the first attack on the world trade center. But I remember the very first time that my mother called us on the house telephone (there were no such thing as a cell phones back then LOL!) and told us to get dressed decently and meet her at the train station. So my brothers and I freshened up and took the bus to the train station to meet my mom. Once there she said we were going to McDonalds for dinner. OMG! I remember us getting so excited and happy because before McDonald’s fast food places started opening up so much more all over the city, our fast food was mainly having Nathans Famous Hot Dogs, Arthur Treachers Fish and Chips ( one of my mother’s favorites) Katz’s Pastramini Sandwiches place in Manhattan, pizza at the Italian restaurants, theme park sausages or having Chinese food, as these were the places mostly everyone had take out from way before McDonalds.

I can recall us four sitting there eating those delicious hamburgers and fries and actually being excited and enjoying the meal. We thought going to McDonalds was the best thing since sliced bread. Most of all our friends and kids our age back then felt the same way. We ate out very rarely so going to McDonalds was even more of a special treat. It was considered a huge thing when our mother took us there. But today going to McDonalds is so common place. People eat at McDonalds practically everyday and do not get excited about the visit there at all and now there are the dollar menus to encourage people to eat there even more so.

My husband says his favorite memory of fast foods was going out and being treated to Ice-cream sundaes and Nathans Famous Franks at Coney Island. He said his parents would take him to get ice-cream and hot dogs and so he was just as excited as we were about McDonalds.

It’s so funny because now there are so many different kinds of fast food places galore and a lot of these fast foods are replacing many nutritious home cooked meals and times family used to spend in the kitchen cooking and enjoying a meal at home together.  

But anyway I know a lot of people are happy for these places because you have a variety of places to choose from and you don’t have to cook when there is so little time because of work obligations, not being able to cook meals and/or lack of time to spend making meals.

People today take these fast food places for granted and go eat out very often. I know people who eat at places like McDonalds, Kentucky fried chicken, Wendy’s, Burger King, I Hop and the list goes on and on every single day and that is scary. I don’t think it’s healthy at all. Well, so we finished eating our dinner and reclined to watching cable after such serious talk. Lol!

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

