Yet You’d Beg Her To Love You, But Me You Don’t Ask…..

Roses for my Valentine

Roses for my Valentine (Photo credit: ClaraDon)

If I were your woman and you were my man……

As far back as I could remember, Friday nights were special, how I love Friday’s, because I would always get together with one or two of my girlfriends at my house and we would play music, cook and hangout. We would make some fried chicken and potato salad and play some loud music and sing and dance our hearts out.

If this world was mine, I’d make you a king, with wealth untold you could have anything………

So years later I try to keep up the tradition, but today early on Friday’s I always cook for the weekend and so when my husband get’s in the music is playing and I am singing.

My love would overrule my sense and I’d call you back for more…..

How I love me some Gladys Knight. I’ve been a fan of Gladys Knight’s music for as far back as I could remember. My brother used to proudly call her kind of music “Grown Folks Music”. You know the kind of music where they sang of love in a covertly sexy romantic way.  It was from a generation of when men would rap to you and I am not talking about the kind of stuff that comes from the modern day rap artist, but from a time and generation when men worked hard to win your love. LOL!

I hope that we can be together soon, real soon, can you make it real soon…….

It was a time when men considered women as precious and talked ever so sweetly with attitudes of love and respect. You know that simple loving playfulness, that loving kindness toward one another. A time when couple’s really wanted to spend quality time with each other, meeting each other’s needs for passion, affection, and conversation really enjoying each other’s company.

You’re like a diamond, but she treats you like glass…………..

My favorites of her songs are “If I were your woman and you were my man” “Midnight train to Georgia” “Neither one of us” and “You’re the best thing that ever happened to me”. I remember the last time I went to a Gladys Knight concert in New York with my husband, oh I had such a wonderful time, it was a wonderful show.

I’m what you need, but I’m too afraid to show it……

So along with Gladys Knight I just love the song “Hope that we could be together soon” by Harold Melvin & Sharon Page and the tune “If this world was mine” by Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell.

When it comes to saying goodbye, that’s a simple word that I just cannot say……..

These songs were the types of lyrics that you don’t really find in music today, but I love to just go back and recapture these love songs, indulge and immerse myself totally into it the lyrics.

So come along with me and listen a while to some of my favorite love songs.

GLADYS KNIGHT

“Neither One Of Us”

(this image is at: http://www.whosampled.com/Sharon-Paige/sampled/)

HAROLD MELVIN AND THE BLUE NOTES

WITH SHARON PAIGE

“Hope That We Can Be Together Soon”

Gladys Knight and the Pips perform aboard the ...

Gladys Knight and the Pips perform aboard the aircraft carrier USS RANGER (CV-61) during the special Suzanne Somers show. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me”

“If I Were Your Woman And You Were My Man”

“Midnight Train To Georgia”

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell in a promotional...

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell in a promotional 1967 photo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

MARVIN GAYE AND TAMMIE TERREL

“Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”

“Precious Love”

“if this world was mine”

Easy (Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell album)

Easy (Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If this world were mine

If this world were mine
I would place at your feet
All that I own
You’ve been so good to me
If this world were mine

I’d give the flowers the birds and the bees
or with your love beside me
That would be all I need
If this world were mine
I’d give you anything

If this world were mine
I’d make you a king
With wealth untold
You could have anything
If this world were mine

I’d give you each day so sunny and blue
if you wanted the moonlight
I’d give you that too
If this world were mine, oh, baby
I’d give you anything

Oh, baby, you’re my consolation
And there’s no hesitation
When you want me
Honey, just call me, oh

Oh, your are my inspiration
And I feel so much sensation
When I’m in your arms
When you squeeze me

                                                         Oh…oh…every sky would be blue                                                              long as your loving me, baby (Ooh….) Whoa…whoa…ho…

With your here in my arms
Life is so wonderful, my love

Oh…oh…give me pretty lovin’, baby
Give me pretty lovin’, honey
Keep on lovin’ me, baby
Whoa…oh…oh…
You know I need you, baby
really, really need you, honey
Keep on loving me

The One and Only (Gladys Knight & the Pips album)

The One and Only (Gladys Knight & the Pips album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If I were your woman

 If I were your woman and you were my man,

you’d have no other woman, you’d be weak as a lamb.
If you had the strength to walk out that door,
My love would over rule my sense, and I’d call you back for more,
If I were your woman.
If I were your woman, and you were my man. Um baby.

She tears you down darlin’, says you’re nothing at all.
But, I’ll pick you up darling, when she lets you fall.
You’re like a diamond but she treats you like glass.
Yet you beg her to love you, but, me you don’t ask.
If I were your woman, If I were your woman.
If I were your woman, here’s what I’d do,
I’d never, no, no, stop loving you.
Yeah, yeah, um

Life is so crazy, and love is unkind.
Because she came first, darling, will she hang on your mind?
You’re a part of me, and you don’t even know it.
I’m what you need, but I’m too afraid to show it.
If I were your woman, If I were your woman,
If I were your woman, here’s what I’d do.
Never, no, no, no, stop loving you, ah, yeah.
If I were your woman, here’s what I’d do.
I’d Never, never never, stop loving you

If I were your woman, your sweet lovin woman,

If I were your woman, I’d be your only woman

If I were your woman,

You’d need no other woman

If I were your woman

English: I love growing Roses, hope all enjoy.

English: I love growing Roses, hope all enjoy. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yet You’d Beg Her To Love You, But Me You Don’t Ask…..

  1. Pingback: ~You’re Number One In My Book~ | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

