House Blessing

I decided to call it house blessing instead of housecleaning, it sounds better, feels better and is kind of easier on the psyche.  It’s time for spring cleaning.

So I usually hire help for the spring. So this week she is using the new carpet cleaning machine to clean these dirty old carpets. So we are half way thru all of this, two rooms to go. I really wish we could just go ahead and put down new flooring instead, but that’s a future goal.

Next it’s time to get our regular guy to whitewash the exterior of the house. Once that’s done then I will get my maid/helper to take down all the curtains, wash them, iron them, wash all the windows before hanging them all back up or I will buy some really sheer colorful curtains for this summer and have those hung up by her.

English: Kitchen Euskara: Sukaldea

English: Kitchen Euskara: Sukaldea (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One other thing I like to do is to have the kitchen repainted with a semi gloss paint, which makes it so easy to wipe the walls and cabinets and keep the kitchen area clean all year. I think painting my kitchen every year is really necessary because for some reason no matter how much you clean it, there seems to be a residue of cloudy grease on the ceiling and near the stove which eats thru paint. So I just get it repainted every year, and I just love the fresh smell of paint in a kitchen along with the fresh new color. My mom used to say you can turn any house into a home with a fresh coat of paint and pretty curtains and so I find that to be really true.

It’s also the time to wash and put away winter blankets, winter clothes and break out the summer gear. I love picking thru the clothes I already have and then buy/add a few things to freshen up my look for spring. Also put away the boots, winter shoes and take out the sandals, summer whites and colorful shoes. I love shopping in my own closet. Sometimes you forget you had something and when you freshen it up it looks and feels brand new.

I Dream of Jeannie

I Dream of Jeannie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So every spring my house is always in an upheaval for work being done. But when summer hits I really like to relax in a freshly decorated and cleaned home. But if the truth were really told I like to have the house cleaned with the seasons, then have done the very light cleaning the rest of the time to keep the house up and maintained. The very next time the whole house gets an overhaul is at the first sign of fall, then once again in January for the start of the New Year. So really its three times a year the house gets an over haul. Not quite like spring cleaning, because I don’t paint the kitchen, it’s only painted once a year in the spring. But I do like to get my husband to help out with the closets and de-clutter a bit. Then we get busy decorating for the holidays by hanging holiday curtains, warm weather curtains, getting the winter blankets back out and going thru winter clothes again. I wish there was an easier way to do all of this like crossing my arms, blinking twice and it all gets done, but that’s the price of being human and not Samatha, Tabitha or Jeannie.

English: Barnsley House kitchen garden, Barnsl...

English: Barnsley House kitchen garden, Barnsley Designer gear is de rigeur in this part of the Cotswolds. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s also time to start working on the gardens. I hired someone to help with this. I decided we will go to Wal-Mart’s garden center pick up soil, compost, seeds, plants and fertilizer. This year I want my husband and neighbor to set out to grow a row of tomatoes, a row of okra, a row of string beans, a row of yellow squash, cucumbers, lettuce, green and red peppers, potatoes, carrots, broccoli and a few small watermelons, cantaloupe, berries, radishes and strawberry hanging plants on the front porch.  I also want to put right near the kitchen backdoor a small herb garden with cilantro, parsley, oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary, mint, dandelion.

We already planted collard greens this winter and they are really growing up big and wide so far. The next thing would be to plant some mustard, kale and turnips. I get so excited when I think of all the free food we will be getting this year hopefully. I would love to try my hand at canning this summer since I have hired help and have someone lined up to help with the housecleaning and cooking for the entire summer, hooray!  I also want to put out a few rows of beautiful flowers around the trees in front of the house and near the doorway in pots on our front porch. Also want to spread a few flower pots out in the backyard as well. So it’s a busy time now.

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to House Blessing

  1. Pingback: Are You Serious? Beautiful Quilts On Floors? Yeah….. Seriously! (Part One) | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  2. THE TLC SHOW says:

    Your garden will look amazing when done! Keep us updated with your progress.

Leave a Reply

