There’s Just Something Special About Driving Along Open Country Roads

 

Country Drive

Country Drive (Photo credit: TexasExplorer98)

Today I took a nice drive alone in my husbands SUV and it felt so good to drive these open country roads for the first time since I have been here. It felt really really so good, I am not quite sure why though. All I know is that I have not driven in a while due to the pain I have sometimes. But today I just had to be out there in that wonderful warm weather breathing in taking in the fresh air and enjoying the sights, oh my goodness it was so nice. The music on the radio was blaring as I sang my little heart out.

Once I passed the next few towns, I found this very unusual store with lots of odd types of things in it, (I won’t say how odd it was) so I browsed and browsed and promised myself that I’ll have to go back at a later date to purchase some of the beautiful things that caught my eye.

I have wanted to get a body piercing for the last year and never had nerve enough to really do it, but was I so ready today, but then I was out of luck because the body piercing sections were all closed for spring break this week, but I will go back later this month and have it done.

You know so my husband knows this so I told him I plan to go back later this month, well he yelled out to the top of his lungs, NO!  So you know that I cannot believe his reactions to the things I like to do. He said I always come up with these weird things to do. I must confess that he’s just never ever been one who accepts the darker side of me sometimes. (Hee, Hee). Well if you can call getting a tattoo and a body piercing a dark side.  So I do have a side of me that strays away from the normal sometimes and well I am sure he does not like that side of me opposite the conservative me, but I always believe in living a little! (Smile) So it’s who I am and I cannot deny that this side of me exists.  Anyway, tattoos and body piercing are really common place now.

 

Homemade Strawberry Jam

Homemade Strawberry Jam (Photo credit: MoHotta18)

It’s been fun and so it was time to head back home so on the way I stopped at this old country store and purchased some homemade strawberry jams, blackberry jellies, fresh strawberries, local honey and bread. One day I promise that I am going to make my own jams and jellies from scratch too. The shop owner told me they get fresh eggs from a local family farm but was all out today. So I will stop in again at a later time to get some farm fresh eggs. They also sold some tiny mosquito repellent plants so I picked up a few and as the store attendant loaded the things in my car, I was saying to myself that I sure hope they work, because the mosquito population around here can get really heavy and so annoying. It was so nice to stop in this store too today because I’d been meaning to stop in this country store for the longest time, my husband and I pass by this way often and never have the time to go inside to check this store out.

So upon returning home my husband put the mosquito plants on the front and back porch and I couldn’t wait to try out some of the local homemade strawberry jam. I have to tell you that the jam was delicious and very very sweet.

So my today was such a wonderful, enjoyable, pleasant day for me.  I felt so refreshed and extremely happy.  But window shopping can do that for me sometimes. I still cannot believe how something as simple as a short drive thru the country made me feel really great and so happy inside.  I have to do this again real soon one day.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There’s Just Something Special About Driving Along Open Country Roads

  1. Violet says:

    I nominated you for a Liebster Award. http://ladybuglizziegail.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/my-liebster-blog-nomination/
    I love your heartfelt and beautiful posts.
    Good luck

  2. words4jp says:

    going for drives are lovely, aren’t they. I, however, like doing them with another person. i wish i could do “by myself” well. i am happy you had a great day.

    • I know it’s kind of hard if you are not used to doing it, but a little solitude can work wonders on your soul. It can be really very freeing because you can do absolutely what ever you want with your time, I think it’s like being selfish a little because you don’t have to tend to the needs of others for a short time at least. LOL!

  3. wisejourney says:

    It sounds like a wonderful pre spring day somewhere new…always fun

  4. missragdoll says:

    Mmmmm~~ Homemade jams~~~ 😀

  5. It’s always fun to explore the surroundings and to try out new things. I hope the mosquito repellant plants worked?
    I’m in support of home made foods. It would be fine if you get back to find the farms that have fresh stuffs.
    About the darker side, every individual is unique and preferences could clash. For peaceful co-existence, certain things can be overlooked. It’s up to you though.
    Lovely post! An experience that I would recommend for myself and everybody, from time to time.

    • You are so sweet, thanks so much. I’m keeping my fingers crossed about the mosquito plants and my husband. LOL! I think he worries that the piercing may get infected but maybe I can convince him somehow that I’ll choose a safe place, because I really want it so much. Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

