Quietly Cooking

Cooking

Cooking (Photo credit: omarbercor)

Part of my New Year’s Resolutions is that I decided to be in complete silence while cooking, preparing and serving my meals. There is no talking, until we sit down to actually eat before we can have conversation. I also take a few minutes to pray, meditate and release before I start cooking, so my mind and mood is in a positive state, well I think this is the best thing I could have ever done.

I decided that I won’t cook simple meals while worried, upset or feeling bad or sad. I truly believe that the food we eat should be cooked with lots of love and while in a positive frame of mind along with having lots of good vibrations all around the kitchen. I believe that if I send lots of love and focus on having loving thoughts while in the kitchen, my food would play a major role in helping to make sure that overall health is good. So this is a new move for me to actually remain so focused on only having happy, loving and positive thoughts while in the kitchen preparing and cooking food, and I also make sure that I play soft relaxing meditative like music in the back ground. I am finding playing music also assists in keeping my thoughts and emotions on the positive track.

So the result of all of this is that I have noticed my meals are even more tasty and delicious, and I am in a much more peaceful and happier state while I eat and digest my meal. So my goal now is not to let anyone come into the kitchen while I am cooking now, at least until I have this down pact. This way of cooking is totally different then how I have been used to cooking before, because I was used to carrying on conversations and/or being in an upset mood while cooking and I did it this way for years.

I remember when I used to have the TV blaring from another room so I could hear it while cooking or I would stop to talk on the phone, talking loudly while having a conversation with others while on speaker phone as I cooked. I guess that’s the multi-tasker in me. And really that way of doing it was really very normal for me and most people I know.

So I am finding it takes a little more concentration and effort to get used to doing things differently. This new way is taking some getting used to but I am sure if I continue cooking this way it will benefit greatly.

I honestly believe negative thoughts; loud talking and conversation while cooking do carry their own vibrations and affect food in some way. I remember when I read about this Japanese scientist who showed how negative words effected just plain water and how positive words effected the water. It was amazing to read this.

It’s been found that if you talk negatively to a plant it will not grow well and if you talk lovingly to your plants as you water them and tend to them they will grow much more beautifully. So I believe it’s the same with the food while it’s being prepared and cooked.

So if I’m silent, sending out love to the food, sending love and prayers to God and think on God’s goodness while I cook and prepare my food, I am so sure that it will help with turning a simple meal into a spectacular, nutritious and nurturing meal that can send healing to the body of myself, family and friends while eating this type of food on a regular basis.

It just requires making a conscious effort and a different level of concentration. I am trying to train myself to be more aware of what I am thinking, feeling and doing while cooking. It’s different in that I have to let it be known that the kitchen is to be a quiet zone at least while I am cooking.

It appears a little awkward to most people especially someone who may decide to stop in for a visit. I been thinking that I really don’t know how to explain it but I am sure I will come up with a way to get it across to others that it’s a good thing. So until then I will just keep on cooking this way and reap its reward and wonderful blessings.

Zen

Zen (Photo credit: Josefe aka Hipnosapo)

 

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

