Children Need Bedtime Curfews

 

I never could understand why parents have newborns and small children out with them late in the evening and not at home tucked in for the night. Gone is the day when children are treated as children.

As for myself I remember that as a child parents did not allow their children to be out side in the street after dark, let alone being at the mall or at the movies. As a child growing up, I always remember that our bedtime was at eight (8) pm every night, except for on the weekends and since we were so used to going to bed early when the weekend came we always fell asleep trying to stay up at night. We could not keep our eyes open past ten (10) pm and I recall my mother and older sisters picking us up and literally having to carry us and put us in bed. If there were any newborns, forget it, they were fed, bathed and were safely in bed way before we were. As a parent myself I did the same. My children were in bed before nine (9) pm and if I had to shop or be at the mall or even take them to see a movie it was done during the daytime hours.

I always wondered what these young parents are thinking and how do these parents let their children stay up late at night (and I mean up at midnight watching TV with the adults) and then send them to school expecting these children to function and do well in school that next day.

It was almost considered a crime back in the day if your teacher found you asleep at your desk in class, your parents were under serious suspicion and the parents had to come up to school and answer for it.

It is my hope that the young generation would wake up regarding this kind of thing.  What happened to hiring a sitter to be there with your children while you go out at night for what ever reason?  Bringing your children out to the movies or else where late at night and considering that family time is really weird. Family time should be during daytime hours not at midnight in the movies. Now that’s my opinion on that.

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

Enhanced by Zemanta

About lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

I like to call my self a happy soul, a daydreamer and have a heart of a gypsy. Love to use my imagination. And trying out new things. Life can be so wonderful and enjoyable when I am being positive and releasing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Children Need Bedtime Curfews

  1. Tanveer Rauf says:

    your words are full of wisdom and thought provoking for parents. I’m glad i didn’t have to face all this as my children got most of their childhood period in army cants , my husband being an army officer. Hnce early to bed and early to rise was instilled in our mind and souls:) but my grandchildren are computer age people so they rise sleep and do what i don’t appreciate

    • Yeah early to bed and early to rise is such a wise thing to do, especially when it comes to itty bitty ones. I think there is no excuse for having them up at all hours. Even computer aged ones need their rest too. Like 9-10 hours of sleep every night and at least a few hours at play where they are physically active. You know jumping rope, running or involved in some sort of sports. Well I am glad we agree here.

  2. Well, this is out of my range! 😉 I am only 22

  3. Boomdeeadda says:

    Oh my gosh Betty, you took the words right out of my mouth. I think there really are no boundries, but that’s a shame. My hubby and I went out to a 9pm movie and a toddler cried all the way thru. It wasn’t even an appropriate movie for them to be at. I did not blame the child, but everyone was so annoyed at this couple. We all asked for a ticket refund and got it. That couple seem oblivious to their err. There was also an incident that made the news here, a trendy local restaurant didn’t have a highchair when one was requested. If you can imagine, the couple called a news station. I was astonished. It was a restaurant catering to adults who want a nice meal without the shannanigans that sometimes come with dining with wee ones. The couple got little support since there are so many other places that they could have patronize. I feel, if you can afford to eat out at fine restaurants, you can afford a sitter for 2 hours. Thanks for being bold enough to post about it!

    • I appreciate your comment, I am so glad that you expressed good examples for why children should be at home at night. This crying child was probably tired anyway. I think todays parents should really use common sense when it comes to raising small children.

Leave a Reply

